Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=AFR%201000G&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the information needs of AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works for AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies that are held by the library can be found here.
Finding Reference Books
Reference books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies are:

African American National Biography… REF E185.96.A4466 2008
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present … REF E185 .E5453 2009
Encyclopedia of African History… REF DT20 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Black Studies … REF E185 .E554 2005
Historical Dictionary of Zambia … REF DT3037 .G76 2008
New Encyclopedia of Africa … REF DT2 .N48 2008
Finding Books
Browsing for books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books for AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

           DT Africa
           E441-453 Slavery in the United States
           E184.5-185.98 African-Americans
           F1601-1629 West Indies
           F1751-1854.9 Cuba
           F1861-1896 Jamaica
           F1912-1930 Haiti (Republic)
           F1931-1941 Dominican Republic
           F2501-2659 Brazil
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 


The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.



 
Finding Articles
Article Databases

Journal and magazine articles for AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the library's databases here.

Useful database for AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present)

Black Thought and Culture (Non-Fiction writings by African Americans, 1700-2006)

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

FINDING NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
Newspaper articles

Booth Library provides access to several newspaper databases. Link to the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's current and historical newspaper databases are:

Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

Lexis Nexis (current newspapers)

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk