Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

AFR 2000: African American Social Movements

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=AFR%202000&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of African American Social Movements by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on African American Social Movements that are held by the library can be found here.
Finding Reference Books
Reference books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to African American Social Movements are:

African-American National Biography ... REF E185.96.A4466 2008
Encyclopedia of African American History … REF E185.E544 2010
Encyclopedia of African American Politics …REF E185.S58155 2003
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights … REF E185.61.E54 2003
Finding Books
Browsing for books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on African American Social Movements, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

E184.5-185.98 African-Americans
E185.2-185.89 Status and development since emancipation
E185.96-185.98 Biography. Genealogy
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 


The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.



 
Finding Articles
Article Databases

Journal and magazine articles on African American Social Movements may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the library's databases here.

Useful database for African American Social Movements are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Black Thought and Culture (Non-Fiction writings by  African Americans, 1700-2006)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject)


Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

Finding Primary Sources
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include speeches, diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, autobiographies, and government documents.

To find primary sources in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary sources in the Booth Library collection include:

Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. … Stacks E185.97.K5 A2 1992
Documentary History of the Modern Civil Rights Movement … Stacks E185.61 .D64 1992
American Civil Rights: Primary Sources … Ref E184.A1 A56 1999
Marshalling Justice: The Early Civil Rights Letters of Thurgood Marshall … Stacks KF8745.M34 A4 2011
Say it Loud: Great Speeches on Civil Rights and African  American Identity ... Stacks E185.615 .S255 2010

Important speeches on the topic of African American Social Movements can be found in Academic Search Complete. To generate search results in the database enter the phrase "Vital Speeches" as a title search.

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases are:

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (full-text articles, African-American newspapers, 1800`s)

American Periodicals Series Online (full-text articles, American Magazines, 1740`s-early 1900`s)

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Chicago Tribune (full-text articles, 1849-199)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk