Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

BIO 3520 :: Intro to Library Resources for Animal Physiology

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=AnimalPhys&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding books
Use the search box for Books & Movies on the new library homepage, accessible at http://library.eiu.edu.

Type in your search terms. At this stage, it is best to use words that broadly describe your topic, rather than specific terminology.

For example, if your question is: How does temperature affect the heart rate of Drosophila melanogaster? You might try using some of these general keywords:
- Drosophila
- insects
- heart
- cardiovascular
- physiology



In addition, these subject terms may be useful (subject terms are much like the tags you apply in Facebook or other social media sites, but in a library catalog, subject terms are created by librarians):
- Drosophila -- physiology
- insects -- physiology
- cardiovascular system -- physiology
- physiology, comparative

Try using the Advanced Search in the library catalog. On this page, you may combine a Keyword search with a Subject search and limit by publication date and version (print or electronic), among other things.



You may also limit results using the toolbar on the right-hand side of your results page within the library catalog.

Not finding what you want? Contact Kirstin, your Biological Sciences librarian (see box at top right of this page).
Elements of a scholarly article
How do you know if you've found a scholarly article? Make sure it contains the sections as listed in the table below.

Note that you will cite your articles in the Introduction and Discussion of your manuscript.

Looking for more articles related to one you have already found? Check the Literature Cited (also called References) section of the article. Remember to Ask a Librarian if you need help finding an article.

Finding articles using an article database
To locate scholarly journal articles, use the Biological Sciences Databases page, which includes descriptions of the databases. Useful article databases for animal physiology include:
- Zoological Record
- Biosis Previews
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (add Academic Search Complete to your search)
- PubMed
- JSTOR
- Google Scholar

Try searching in more than one! Try them all!!

When searching for journal articles use more specific keywords than when searching for books. Consider again the sample question How does temperature affect the heart rate of Drosophila melanogaster? Suggested keywords for a journal article search include (you may think of more!):
- Drosophila
- Drosophila melanogaster
- heart rate
- temperature
- physiological effects

Below is an example of a Basic Search in the database Zoological Record. Try doing a Multi-Field Search, as well.



Remember if you see , click on this link to navigate to the full-text article. See instructions in the right-hand column of this guide.
Finding articles using an article citation
Perhaps you already have an article on your topic. You've read the article and identified another source in its Literature Cited section that you want to use.



How do you find an article if you only have a citation?

Use the citation locator on the Journal Titles tab of the new Booth Library homepage:



Remember:
- Use the journal title in this search NOT the article title (see above example). Abbreviations are okay!
- Many scientific article citations do not include an issue number; if so, leave the Iss. box empty (as in the example above).
- Type the starting page only in the First Page box.
- If you know the DOI (Digital Object Identifier, a unique number assigned to an article), you need only enter that number into the Digital Object Identifier box to search.

Questions? Contact Kirstin, the Biological Sciences librarian or Ask a Librarian.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kirstin Duffin

Kirstin Duffin
Reference Librarian Liaison for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology/Geography
kduffin@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7550


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Save the URL!
Link back to this guide:
http://booth.eiu.edu/animalphys
Recommended books
Wanting to improve your scientific writing? Check out these books at Booth Library:
 
A student handbook for writing in biology
Call number:
QH304 .K64 2002x
Scientific writing: a reader and writer's guide
Call number:
T11 .L455 2007
Using Get Full Text to locate articles
When you see Find It @ EIU icon, it may lead you to the full-text article. If you see one of the options below, follow the given directions as outlined.

Full text available means the article can be viewed and printed from your computer.



Booth Library owns some issues means your article may be available in hard copy (print journals) at the library. Click to verify the issue you want is at Booth. Ask a Librarian for help with this task.



If the first option on the screen is Request document via Interlibrary Loan, the article is not available in the library or online.

Click on "Request document via" and fill out the form to request the article. Your article should arrive within one week. In most cases, a link to the article is sent to you by e-mail.

There is no charge to you for using this service.