Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Art Education / Community Arts

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=ArtEd&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Articles
Search selected EBSCO databases
Limit your results

ERIC
Professional Development Collection
Teacher Reference Center
• ​ These education databases can be searched separately or together, along with the multidisciplinary Academic Search Complete and other EBSCOhost databases.
• ​ ERIC is also available in an open access web version.
• ​ For more, see the full list of Education Databases.

Art Abstracts
• ​ Bibliographic citations and summaries for articles, including some full-text and peer-reviewed sources.
• ​ ​Cross-searchable with Academic Search CompleteHumanities International Complete, and other EBSCOhost databases.

Consult EBSCOhost Help for information on how to optimize your use of these research databases. 
JSTOR
Project Muse
• ​ Multidisciplinary databases of full-text peer-reviewed articles.
Depending on the interdisciplinary aspects of your paper topic, you may wish to search additional Resources by Subject.
If using Google Scholar, set up your library links for access to EIU journal subscriptions.
Browse the lists of e-journals for Art, Architecture & Applied Arts and Social Sciences including Education.
If you already have a citation (a.k.a. bibliographic reference) for an article, do a journal title search to find out whether that volume/issue is available at Booth Library. [view example of search result]
 
 

You can also check on availability by looking up the article citation or DOI.
About "Get Full Text" Linking  [view examples
If Booth Library does not own the journal either in print or electronically, submit an Interlibrary Loan Article Request.
 
Finding Books
 
You can limit your search to electronic resources on the Advanced Search screen. [view screenshot]

Alternatively, you can narrow the list of retrieved items by Format on the search results page. [view screenshot]
​I-Share Catalog Search  
Search the catalog of the consortium of academic and research libraries in Illinois.

 
  EBSCO

View the complete list of eBook Resources.

eBooks can also be found by searching the library catalog or the resources listed in this guide.

eBooks - How to Find Them (3-minute video tutorial)
If the book you want is not available at EIU or through I-Share, try searching WorldCat (international database of library holdings) or submit an Interlibrary Loan Book Request.
In addition to searching for your topic by keyword, subject headings may be useful in identifying relevant sources of information.
Additional Resources
Oxford Art Online
​This encyclopedic resource (including subject entries, biographies, images, and bibliographies) provides access to Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
NOTE: Limited to 3 users at a time.
Literature Reviews (Booth Library research guide)
Resources for Writers (EIU Writing Center)
Ballenger Teachers Center
The website for Booth Library's collection of teaching and learning materials includes links to Education Web Resources, Practical Sites for Teachers, and Sites for Kids.
Professional associations, advocacy organizations, government agencies, and museum websites may also be good sources of information.
Research Consultations
For research assistance and related questions, please contact:

Ellen Corrigan
Art subject specialist librarian

Michele McDaniel
Education subject specialist librarian
 
Services for Students in Online Programs
Off-Campus Access
Use your EIU NetID and password (same login as for D2L) for remote access to library resources.
Books from Booth Library can be delivered to you by mail.
Distance Education Book Request

Articles will be emailed to you.
Distance Education Article Request

For more information about returning books as well as eligibility for this service, please see the Distance Education Loan Policy.
To renew items, use your I-Share Account.
About Your Library Number
Your library ID number is located in the lower right corner of your Panther Card or Student I.D. Card (14 digits beginning with 2 2211 0____ ____).

Another way to find your library number is Library ID Lookup.
IN-STATE STUDENTS:
For resources that are not available at Booth Library, you may borrow materials from other college and university libraries in Illinois by submitting a request in I-Share.

List of I-Share Libraries and Map

You can also have these materials delivered to any I-Share location by choosing a pick-up library from the dropdown menu when placing your request. [view screenshot]

For resources that are not available through I-Share, use an Interlibrary Loan request form.

Items requested through Interlibrary Loan will be shipped to Booth Library by the lending library. We will then mail the item directly to you. ILL items can be returned at any I-Share location. 
OUT-OF-STATE STUDENTS:
Items requested through Interlibrary Loan will be shipped to Booth Library by the lending library. We will then mail the item to you, along with an address label for the item's return to the Booth Library ILL Dept.
Please allow enough time for us to ship the item back to the lending library before its due date. You may need to request an extension of the loan period in order to avoid incurring overdue fines.
For more information:
Services for Off-Campus Students
Online Students Library Resources Guide
Booth Library FAQ
If you have questions about your library account, call:
 Circulation Desk
 217-581-6071

For Interlibrary Loan concerns, call:
 217-581-6074
Citation Help
APA Style Citation Guide (Booth Library)
Citing Articles in APA Style (EBSCO Help)
How to Cite eBooks (EBSCO Help)
Information on database citation tools:
  How to Use the EBSCO Cite feature
  Exporting Citations from JSTOR
You can manage your citations with freeware such as Mendeley or Zotero.

Managing Your Reference Citation Management Software
(PDF of PowerPoint slides)

Citation Management Software exercise
(.docx will begin downloading automatically)