Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

BIO 3120 :: Poster assignment

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=BIO3120Manuscript&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Starting out

Before searching the databases, consider:

- What is your research question?
- What information do you want to convey to your readers?
- How will the professional literature augment what you will be writing about in your poster?
 

For example:

- Is there more than one alcohol dehydrogenase gene in Mus musculus?
- What role does alcohol dehydrogenase play in Mus musculus?
- Have other studies examined alcohol dehydrogenase activity? Did any of these studies examine the effect of temperature and/or pH on the activity of this enzyme?
 

Need some background on alcohol dehydrogenase?

Read this brief overview from the Protein Data Bank:
http://pdb101.rcsb.org/motm/13
 
Find journal articles
Follow the links from the Booth Library home page to locate resources for biology articles:




7 suggested databases - pick 2 or 3 to try

(1) Biosis Previews,
(2) Zoological Record

Biosis Previews includes scientific literature (scholarly articles, conference proceedings, patents, etc.) covering the breadth of the life sciences disciplines (botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, zoology, etc.).

Zoological Record contains scientific literature with a focus on animal biology and related fields.

Both of these databases are indexes -- they include records of the published literature and will help you locate full-text documents. Use Get Full Text icon to locate your article.

The Basic Search operates much like a Google search: your search is free-form and results are relevancy-ranked. By default, related terms are included in a Basic Search, so word variants are also included in results (e.g., singular and plural forms of a word; some scientific and common names will be included in results if you use one or the other as your search words).

Basic Search screen shot

Use the Multi-Field search to wield more control over your results: limit your search words to appear only in the title of results, or search by author, species, or gene name. Results are displayed with the most current items at the top of the page, and it is not possible to rank your results by relevancy.

Multi-Field Search screen shot

 

(3) PubMed



PubMed is a free search portal provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Accessing full text requires subscription (via Booth Library), although some content is made freely available due to government open access policies. Use the "Available @ EIU" filter, as shown in the screen shot above, to only see results with full-text content available to campus users. Search the biomedical literature using PubMed.

 

(4) Biological & Agricultural Index Plus,
(5) Academic Search Complete



In comparison to Biosis Previews, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a smaller database with exclusive focus on the life sciences literature. Search it and Academic Search Complete, which is a multidisciplinary database with some coverage of the scientific literature, simultaneously. Some full-text content is available in these databases.

 

(6) JSTOR



Like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database. JSTOR is short for Journal Storage. This database contains deep backfiles of scholarly literature that has been retroactively digitized for easy access. Locate articles published all the way back in the 1800s through to the present.

Use JSTOR to find "the basics" of the scientific literature: in earlier publications, scientists reported on more rudimentary scientific principles as compared to the more complex research articles that are published today.

 

(7) Google Scholar



Google Scholar garners instant name recognition. It searches only the scholarly literature, and results include journal articles, book citations, and more, with the occasional high school science project finding its way into the mix. Advanced search functionality is much more primitive than the above-mentioned library databases, and results tend to focus on quantity over quality. Nonetheless, Google Scholar can be a useful resource in locating scientific literature. Use it in combination with library databases to garner your best search results.

When off campus, link into Google Scholar from Booth Library. You'll have to sign in using your EIU NetID and password. Then, you'll have full access to hundreds of electronic journal subscriptions in addition to content that's available on the free web.



Access the interlibrary loan article request form here.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kirstin Duffin

Kirstin Duffin
Reference Librarian Liaison for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology/Geography
kduffin@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7550


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Save the link!
Here's a quick way back to this research guide: 
http://booth.eiu.edu/bio3120
Choose your citation style
You'll pick a citation style to follow for this research poster assignment.

Not sure which to use? Try one of these suggestions.

Option 1: Choose Council of Science Editors style. Consult this guide to formatting in CSE style, and use the CSE Manual book, available for in-library use only in Booth Library's reference room. (Older editions are available to check out in the library stacks.)

Option 2: Choose a biology journal, such as Cell. Take a look at articles published in the journal Cell to see examples of proper formatting in published articles. (Click on a title in the Articles section. Scroll down to the References section within a research article.)

You could also review Cell's instructions for authors (look for the References subheading for instructions and examples).
Journal abbreviations

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool


Depending on the citation style you choose to follow, you may need to use standard journal abbreviations in creating citations for your References section. The CASSI Search Tool is the authoritative source for journal abbreviations in the fields of biology and chemistry.

Important note: Check the box for "Exact match" to the right of the search box to locate your journal quickly.

Recommended reading
Want to do more background reading on enzymes? Browse the QP601 section of the Booth Library book stacks (on the first floor).

Here's one recent book on the topic:

How enzymes work: from structure to function
Call Number:
QP601 .S89 2015x





For guidance on creating scientific posters, see:

Designing science presentations: a visual guide to figures, papers, slides, posters, and more
Call Number:
Q223 .C325 2013x

Make your mark in science: creativity, presenting, publishing, and patents: a guide for young scientists
Call Number:
Q223 .A75 2005
Use "Get Full Text" to locate articles
When searching different databases, if you see the "Get Full Text" icon, it will lead you to the full article within a few clicks or provide you with a way to request it for free within a few days. 






Ask a Librarian for help with accessing an article, or with any other question you have. Feel free to contact Kirstin Duffin, your subject librarian, directly at kduffin{@}eiu.edu.
Additional sites
Online resources may be used to generate some of the information (e.g. pI, MW, amino acid sequence). Useful websites include (but are not limited) to the following: 

 

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ 

http://blast.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Blast.cgi 

http://expasy.org/proteomics 

http://web.expasy.org/translate/ 

http://web.expasy.org/compute_pi/