Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Business

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Business&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources for Business
Finding Company Information
Something to consider

Is the company public or private?
Publicly held companies in the United States, those that trade on the U.S. stock exchange, are required by law to disclose information such as their quarterly earning reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). This information is available to the company’s shareholders and the public. Privately held companies are not required to do disclose financial information because they do not trade on the U.S. stock exchange. Generally, it is more difficult to research a private company than a public company.  If you are researching a small private company, you may need to rely more heavily on local news and information sources.
Business databases
Business Source Elite
Full text journal articles | Business | Management | Economics | Finance | Banking | Accounting | Company Profiles & Financials

Lexis-Nexis
Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)

Mergent FIS
Full text | US company data | International company data | Annual reports

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Real-time access to data | Independent analysis | Stocks| Mutual funds | Exchange-traded funds | Closed-end funds
Please log out when you are finished.

Plunkett Research Online
Business and industry data| Market research and trends| Company profiles

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Industry surveys | Stock Reports | Mutual fund/ETF reports | Bond reports| Corporation records
 
Finding journal articles
Business article databases

Booth Library offers several databases useful for finding articles on Business. All databases are accessible from off campus as well; just log in with your EIU netID and password.  Think about your topic in terms of keywords, which can either be connected by AND/OR/NOT on the same line, or separated on different lines.

If full text isn't linked, click on the Find It EIU button to see whether your article is available online or in print through another Booth Library source.

 
Web Resources
·  Bureau of Labor Statistics An independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.
·  Doing Business Reports on business regulations in 189 economies and selected cities around the world. Includes info on how to start a business, deal with construction permits, and register property, with tables of data for each.
·  North American Industry Classifications (NAICS) Find NAICS and SIC codes.
·  Occupational Outlook Handbook Profiles of hundreds of occupations that describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more.
·  United States Census Bureau Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities. Use the Economic Census, updated Every five years (2002, 2007, 2012, etc.), for industry information.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janice Derr

Janice Derr
Reference Librarian
jmderr@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-5090


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Searching the EIU Online Catalog
Choose the EIU Online Catalog to find books in the library, and in the search box, type in keywords describing what you'd like to find.  You'll find the best results using simple words or phrases, such as "marketing strategies" to locate books.  Click on each title to find more information about the item.  The catalog will also find information on videos, ebooks, government publications, and more.
 
Browsing the stacks for Business books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number.  Below is a list of the call number ranges for subjects within the Business field.  Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books in the stacks are found on the 3rd floor south (main level), and these books can be borrowed with your Panther Card.  You can also find Business reference books in the reference area, 3rd floor north, next to the reference computer lab.

HA - Statistics
HB - Economic Theory, Demography, Business Cycles
HC 94-1085 - Economic History & Conditions, By Region or Country
HD 28-88 - Production
HD 101-1395.5 - Land Use
HD 2321-4730 - Industry
HD 4801-8942 - Labor
HD 9000-9999 - Special Industries and Trades
HE - Transportation and Communication
HF- Commerce (General)
HG 201-1496 - Money
HG 1501-3550 - Banking
HG 4051-6052 - Stocks, Investment
HJ - Public Finance, Taxation
HT - Cities, Regional Economics, Urban Planning
 
Recommended Business reference books
Best Customers - REF HC79.C6 B45x
Demographics of the U.S. - REF HB849.49 .R87x 2003
Business Plans Handbook - REF HD62.7 .B865
International Directory of Company Histories - REF HD2721. I63