Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

College Student Development

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=CSD&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Books
 
You can limit your search to electronic resources on the Advanced Search screen. [view screenshot]

Alternatively, you can narrow the list of retrieved items by Format on the search results page. [view screenshot]
​I-Share Catalog Search  
If the book you want is not available at EIU or through I-Share, try searching WorldCat (international database of library holdings) or submit an Interlibrary Loan Book Request.
In addition to searching for your topic by keyword, subject headings may be useful in identifying relevant sources of information.
Finding E-Books
Booth Library offers E-Books on two major platforms: SpringerLink and EBSCOhost.

You can search for books inside each database using the search box below. First, select either Spring or EBSCO. Then conduct your search. For tips on navigating either e-book platform please see below.
 
 EBSCO
Navigating the SpringerLink E-Book Platform

Books in SpringerLink are available to multiple users simultaneously. You can download single chapters or complete books.

To access e-books in SpringerLink:


1. Select the Springer button
2. Type in your search term ("classroom management", for example)
3. Click Go.
4. Narrow results. In SpringerLink, you can narrow your results using the Discipline or Subdiscipline facets on the left side of your search results.
SpringerLink Facets
5. If you don't see the discipline that interests you. Click on See All. You can then browse all the Disciplines or Subdisciplines.
Subdisciplines
Navigating the EBSCO E-Book Platform
Search EBSCO e-books
E-Books in EBSCO are typically only available for one patron to view at a time. Sometimes we do offer titles for three simultaneous users.

To access e-books in EBSCO:

1. Select EBSCO.
2. Type in your search term (for example: "student affairs")
3. Click Go.
4. Narrow results. Like in SpringerLink, you can narrow your results using the facets on the left. In EBSCO, you can limit your results by Subject.
EBSCO Subject Facet
5. If you don't see a Subject of interest, click on Show More.
See More - Subject
6. To access a book, click on the title. You can then click on either the PDF or ePub full text to browse online. Or, you can download. Look where it says concurrent user level to see how many simultaneous users the books can support.
How to read
Subject Specialist

Michele McDaniel
Ballenger Teacher Center (BTC) Coordinator
Subject Specialist for Education, Counseling, and Student Development
BTC Phone: 217-581-8442
Office Phone (voicemail): 217-581-6099
Email: mkmcdaniel@eiu.edu
 
Finding Articles for Research
You can use the search widget below to begin your search for articles related to topics in education. The box searches the primary education databases: ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and PsychINFO. All of these databases contain research from PreK through post-graduate education. It is helpful to include the level of student in your search terms (i.e. Undergraduage or Graduate). Use quotation marks to keep key ideas or phrases together. For example: "Undergraduate Students" or "Student Satisfaction"

If you are off campus, before being able to view your results, you will be asked to provide your EIU NetID and Password.

Search for Articles in ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and PsychINFO
Limit Your Results


Additional Higher Education Resources can be found in our list of Education Databases.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy has an extensive selection of videos videos related to the discipline of Education, including both Education Documentaries and Teacher Education Development.

To browse the full list, click on the picture below to view the collection. Once you are in Kanopy, you can also perform a more specific search:
kanopy logo
Electronic Reference Resources
We have a variety electronic reference resources available through Gale Virtual Reference Library that are great for background research on a variety of topics within the education discipline. These are particularly appealing because they are searchable, and you can access them from anywhere. You can see a breakdown of education topics in the image below. If you are interested in introductory articles to any of the topics in the image follow these steps.

​1. Click on the image below: 
Education Tiles
2. You will need to type Education into the Topic Finder search bar. 
 Education Search
3. Select your topic of interest. Article titles will display in the box to the right. You can then browse and click on titles of interest to see the full article.
Choose a topic and view results
Additional Reference Resources for Education
Reference materials provide a general overview or data/statistics about a given topic. If you are looking for background information on a topic in the discipline of education, follow this link to our online education reference resources: http://www.library.eiu.edu/eresources/eref/index.php?subcode=EED
 
Here are a few examples of our print encyclopedias relevant to higher education. They are located on the north end of the 3000 level of the library.
 
  • International Encyclopedia Of Education.
  • LB15 .I569 2010x
  • summary | details
  • Encyclopedia Of Law and Higher Education
  • KF4225.A68 E53 2010
  • summary | details
  • Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia
  • Brooks, F. Erik.
  • LC2781 .B755 2011
  • summary | details
  • Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life: A Comprehensive Resource for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Students and Their Allies
  • Baez, John.
  • LB2343.32 .B225 2007
  • summary | details
  • Law Of Higher Education: A Comprehensive Guide to Legal Implications Of Administrative Decision Making
  • Kaplin, William A.,
  • KF4225 .K36 2013
  • summary | details