- PE 1481-PE 1497
Bedford Bibliography for Teachers of Writing
essential, highly praised resource; updated to reflect current research and expanding specializations in composition and rhetoric--such as digital writing and visual rhetoric and business and technical communication; includes an annotated list of over 860 articles, periodicals, and online resources. An introductory section also provides a brief historical overview of these fields.
an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis.
Council of Editors of Learned Journals (CELJ)
Associated with the Modern Language Association, the Council discusses issues of concern to writers and editors: funding, peer reviewing, plagiarism, property rights, copy editing, etc.
Council of Writing Program Administrators
The Council of Writing Program Administrators is a national association of college and university faculty with professional responsibilities for (or interests in) directing writing programs. Members include directors of freshman composition, undergraduate writing, WAC/WID/CAC, and writing centers, as well as department chairs, division heads, deans, and so on.
EServer Technical Communication Library
The EServer Technical Communication Library is a free, open-access, categorized index of 22,247 works available online for professional, scientific and technical communicators (such as technical writers) designed to help people inside and outside these fields to browse, read, and learn more about the profession.
The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) sponsors Assemblies to provide forums for discussion and information sharing by individuals who share the same special interests or who have similar jobs, i.e., Assembly on Computers in English.
The WAC Clearinghouse, in partnership with the International Network of Writing Across the Curriculum Programs, publishes open-access journals, books, and other resources for teachers who use writing in their courses
- ERIC/EBSCO Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Largest Education Database | Articles | Documents and Reports | Pre-K-12 Education | Postsecondary Education | Continuing Education | Special Education | ELL | Counseling
- Professional Development Collection Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Highly Specialized Collection | Pre-K-12 Education | Postsecondary Education | Continuing Education | Special Education | ELL | Counseling
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Indexing for journals in all areas related to communication studies and mass media. CMMC offers full text for 350 titles and contains citation coverage for additional 660 sources.
- MLA International Bibliography Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Criticism of Authors & Their Works | Fiction | Short Stories | Drama | Poetry | Rhetoric & Composition | Literary Theory | History, Theory and Practice of Teaching Language and Literature | Includes Indexing for Book Chapters and Dissertations in the Discipline
- Project Muse Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Theater | Cultural Studies | Education | Philosophy | Religion | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences
- JSTOR Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
Click on journal title to see Location and holdings:
Across the Disciplines
College Composition and Communication
Community Literacy Journal
Enculturation: A Journal of Rhetoric, Writing, and Culture
Harlot: A Revealing Look at the Arts of Persuasion
JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory
Journal of Basic Writing
Journal of Business and Technical Composition
Journal of Electronic Publishing
Journal of Second Language Writing
Journal of Teaching Writing
Journal of Technical Writing and Communication
Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy
Literacy in Composition Studies
Pedagogy: Critical Approaches to Teaching Literature, Language, Composition, and Culture
Philosophy and Rhetoric
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society
Quarterly Journal of Speech
Research in the Teaching of English
RhetNet: A Cyberjournal for Rhetoric and Writing
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
Teaching English in the Two-Year College
Technical Communication Quarterly
Technoculture: an Online Journal of technology in Society
Type in the journal name and choose SO Journal Title to see a list of articles in that journal.
Click on Get Fulltext to access an Interlibrary Loan Form
Fill out the required fields and click on submit
The sample search below is searching for the Library of Congress subject heading associated with books about the study and teaching of English language composition, sometimes referred to as Rhetoric. After searching, look to the right of the screen to see Topics and Subject Area terms that may suggest ways to search for related materials.
Creative writing pedagogies for the twenty-first century
Drawing primarily from the field of composition studies—a discipline rich with a wide range of established pedagogies—the contributors in this volume build on previous models to present fresh and inventive methods for the teaching of creative writing.
Securing a place for reading in composition : the importance of teaching for transfer
Securing a Place for Reading in Composition addresses the dissonance between the need to prepare students to read, not just write, complex texts and the lack of recent scholarship on reading-writing connections
LB1575.8 .C37 2015
Shelved At Book Stacks J-L 2000 Level
Teaching arguments : rhetorical comprehension, critique, and response
The author provides teachers with engaging classroom activities, writing prompts, graphic organizers, and student samples to help students at all levels read, write, listen, speak, and think rhetorically. With appropriate scaffolding and encouragement, all students can learn a rhetorical approach to argument and gain access to rigorous academic content.
P301.5.P47 F54 2015
Shelved At Book Stacks P-Z 1000 Level
Assignments across the curriculum : a national study of college writing
Analyzes the rhetorical features and genres of writing assignments through the writing-to-learn and writing-in-the-disciplines perspectives.
PE1404 .M448 2014
Shelved At Book Stacks P-Z 1000 Level
Subject Bibliographer for English
Reference Desk 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk