Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

BIO 1500 :: Daphnia Lab

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Daphnia&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Starting out

Before searching the databases, consider:

- What is your hypothesis?
- What information do you need to help explain what you have done in your lab and why you did it?
 

For example:

- What is the general physiological effect of caffeine and ethanol on other organisms?
- What factors affect the heart rate of Daphnia?
- What information on the life history or behavior of Daphnia is relevant to your hypothesis?
Finding journal articles
At EIU, we have two general biology article databases. Try searching them both!
 

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus


Add these useful databases to your search before continuing:
- Academic Search Complete
- GreenFILE

Enter key words in the search boxes, as shown below. This is an example search. Other possible key words are:
- heart rate AND daphnia
- caffeine AND physiological effects
- daphnia acute toxicity testing
- daphnia life cycle

Think about how you developed your hypothesis and use key words related to those ideas. Put each key word or phrase in a separate box to increase your results, as below:



Articles with PDF Full Text icon, HTML Full Text icon, or Linked Full Text icon icons can be read and printed with one click.

Articles with the Find it @ EIU icon icon may be available electronically. See instructions in the right-hand column of this guide.
 

Biosis Previews


The default search screen in Biosis Previews is Basic Search, which puts the most relevant articles at the top of your results (like a Google search). Try the Multi-Field Search, too - results are sorted by date added to database, with the most current articles appearing at the top of your results.



Multi-field search in Biosis Previews.

You will always need to use Find it @ EIU icon to locate full-text articles in Biosis Previews.
Scholarly vs. popular articles
How do you know whether you are reading a scholarly journal article or a popular magazine article? Check out these identifying characteristics:

Elements of a scholarly article
How do you know if you've found a scholarly article? Make sure it contains the sections as listed in the below table.

Note that you will cite your articles in the introduction and discussion of your lab report.

Looking for more articles related to one you have already found? Check the Literature Cited (also called References) section of the article. Remember to Ask a Librarian if you need help finding an article.

Understanding peer review
Diagram of the peer review process.
Image courtesy of the University of California Museum of Paleontology - Understanding Science - www.understandingscience.org. Used with permission.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kirstin Duffin

Kirstin Duffin
Reference Librarian Liaison for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology/Geography
kduffin@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7550


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Save the URL!
Want an easy way to get back to this guide?
http://booth.eiu.edu/daphnia
Using Find It @ EIU to locate articles
When you see Find It @ EIU icon, it may lead you to the full-text article. Please Ask a Librarian if you need help locating an article.

Full text available means the article can be viewed and printed from your computer.

Full text available using Find It @ EIU.

Booth Library owns some issues means your article may be available in hard copy (print journals) at the library. Click to verify the issue you want is at Booth. Ask a Librarian for help with this task.



If the first option on the screen is Request document via Interlibrary Loan, the article is not available in the library or online.

Click on "Request document via" and fill out the form to request the article. Your article should arrive within one week. In most cases, a link to the article is sent to you by e-mail.

There is no charge to you for using this service.
Recommended books
Looking for a way to improve your grades and effectively study for your biology courses? Check out these books from the Booth Library collection (on the first floor):

Effective learning in the life sciences: how students can achieve their full potential
Call number:
QH315 .E33 2011

Essential skills for science & technology
Call number:
Q181 .E73 2008



Study and communication skills for the biosciences
Call number:
QH315 .J64 2014