Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=EEBOTCP&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

EEBO-TCP
textcreationpartnership.org banner image

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership:
Phase I Public Release


What is the TCP?

from textcreationpartnership.org: 
"The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. We transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints. This work, and the resulting text files, are jointly funded and owned by more than 150 libraries worldwide. All of the TCP's work will be released the public domain for anyone to use.
The Text Creation Partnership is quickly arriving at a major milestone: starting January 1, 2015, all restrictions will be lifted from EEBO-TCP Phase I, which consists of the first 25,000 texts transcribed and encoded by the TCP from 2000-2009.
These 25,000 (plus a few hundred) texts will be freely available to anyone wishing to use them, and there will no longer be any restrictions on sharing these files. They will be licensed under the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication (CC0 1.0 Universal), which will be indicated in the header of each text.

​What does this mean for us at EIU?

Access to the phase I public release means that over 25,000 early print books have been digitally encoded and made available for free download. The files are stored in a publicly accessible Box.com folder as SGML and XML files. The Box.com folder does not provide the ability to search the files, and if you don't know how to view SGML or XML files, it doesn't do you a lot of good.

Thankfully, the University of Michigan and Oxford University have provided search interfaces for the phase I texts. The Oxford University Text Archive has also provided HTML and Epub files of all 25,000+ texts. Used in conjunction with our current access to the search interface and facsimile page reproductions available from Proquest (http://eebo.chadwyck.com/home), the Michigan search interface, the Box.com folder and the Oxford Text Archive provide unprecedented access to these early printed books.

Access the files and search interfaces from the links below

EEBO Proquest Chadwyck Healy access to search and facsimile images
Proquest access to search and facsimile images of ALL EEBO texts, not just Phase I texts (this is what we've had all along and will continue to have).




UMichigan EEBO search interface image
University of Michigan EEBO-TCP search interface



Oxford University EEBO-TCP Archive image
University of Oxford Text Archive: Text Creation Partnership EEBO, ECCO, and Evans Texts files in HTML, and Epub files. (this archive contains all texts, thise currently restricted as well as the free texts) 



Umich eebo box.com screenshot image


Box.com EEBO Phase I download folder















​For the daring soul, the textcreationpartnership.org website also provides tools to access and analyze the texts using the SGML and XML files in order to do what Franco Moretti calls "distant reading".  
This guide can be linked to from this url: http://booth.eiu.edu/eebotcp