Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

BIO 3180: Ecological Literature

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Ecology&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Secondary Literature
Finding Books
A secondary source evaluates or otherwise interprets the primary literature. Secondary literature may include review articles, magazine articles, and textbooks, among other sources.

Search for books using the EIU Online Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Library catalog main search screen.


Once you find an item you like, click on its title. This will bring up the bibliographic record for the item, as in the image below. Use the location, call number, and status to find the book in Booth Library.

Bibliographic record for the book Ecology and Conservation of Fishes.
Citing your sources
We must give credit where credit is due. When using others' ideas, always cite their work.

For this assignment, you will be using the citation style for Journal of Ecology. Sample formatted citations are included below.

**Examples are taken from the Journal of Ecology's Author Guideline page:**

Journal article

Example of reference with 2 to 7 authors


Beers, S. R. , & De Bellis, M. D. (2002). Neuropsychological function in children with maltreatment-related posttraumatic stress disorder. The American Journal of Psychiatry, 159, 483–486. doi:10.1176/appi.ajp.159.3.483

Ramus, F., Rosen, S., Dakin, S. C., Day, B. L., Castellote, J. M., White, S., & Frith, U. (2003). Theories of developmental dyslexia: Insights from a multiple case study of dyslexic adults. Brain, 126(4), 841–865. doi: 10.1093/brain/awg076

Example of reference with more than 7 authors

Rutter, M., Caspi, A., Fergusson, D., Horwood, L. J., Goodman, R., Maughan, B., … Carroll, J. (2004). Sex differences in developmental reading disability: New findings from 4 epidemiological studies. Journal of the American Medical Association, 291(16), 2007–2012. doi: 10.1001/jama.291.16.2007


Book edition (**use this to cite books**)

Bradley-Johnson, S. (1994). Psychoeducational assessment of students who are visually impaired or blind: Infancy through high school (2nd ed.). Austin, TX: Pro-ed.


Find more at the Journal of Ecology's Author Guidelines page. Click on "Manuscript Specifications" and scroll down to References. You'll find examples in a bulleted list for Journal article, Book edition, Edited book, etc.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kirstin Duffin

Kirstin Duffin
Librarian Liaison for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology/Geography
kduffin@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7550


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Save the link!
Want an easy way back to this guide?
http://booth.eiu.edu/ecology
Jump to info about citations:
Primary Literature
Finding Articles
A primary source reports authors' original research. Types of primary literature include research articles, technical reports, conference papers, and patents, among others.

Start on the Booth Library homepage, www.library.eiu.edu, and navigate to the appropriate journal article databases to find ecology articles.

Locate the biology journal article databases.


Biological and Agricultural Index Plus is one database that contains journal articles for the field of ecology.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus main search page.


BIOSIS Previews is another database that has ecology journal articles. Try both databases and see what types of results you get.

1. In a BIOSIS Previews Advanced Search, type in your search terms. Remember to uncheck the Map Term to Subject Heading box.
BIOSIS Preview main search page.

2. Search History is found above the Advanced Search search box.
Search History in BIOSIS Previews.