Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

English Literature

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=EngLit&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Journal Articles
Use online indexes to locate journal articles online, in print at Booth Library or available through InterLibrary Loan.
For example:






Find Books
Search for books in the EIU Online Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.  See sample seach below:  

 Limit results under the "Narrow Search" section.  “Topics” are especially useful.
 This search turned up 653 items, including books, ebooks and films about Jane Austen. 
   
Online Reference Resources
Online reference resources offer biographical and critical information about authors, their works and other literary topics, for example:

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Topics: Fulltext poems | Biographies of Poets | Commentaries | History & Criticism | Subject Search | Glossary

Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from around the World
Folktales and fairy tales from around the globe | History | Geography | Culture | Anthropology | Contemporary Topics | Fairy Tale in Manga | Television | Pop Music | Music Videos

Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Topics: Literary Criticism for Authors and their Works | Cross-searchable with Children's Literature Review - Contemporary Authors - Dictionary of Literary Biography - Literature Criticism Online - Something About the Author | Great Sources of Information about the Lives of Authors and their Works

Literature and Politics Today
This encyclopedia explores the relationship between literature and politics through entries on authors, historical figures, major literary and political works, national literatures, and literary movements. It covers specific themes, concepts, and genres related to literature and politics from the 20th century to the present.

Salem Literature Online
Critical Survey of Long Fiction, 4th edition | Critical Survey of Graphic Novels | Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets | Magill`s Literary Annual | Selected Titles from the Critical Insights Series
More Online Resources
Explore Databases with special content related to English Literature, for example:
 
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection
  • British Periodicals
  • Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Online Bibliographies
Victorian Database Online
Comprehensive Bibliography | Books | Articles | Dissertations | 19th Century British Studies
Selected Reference Room Resources
The Reference Room, located on the 3000 Level of Booth Library offers many handy reference titles that can help you with your research.  Here are a few examples:
 
  All Things Chaucer Ref. PR 1903 .R55 2007
  Annotated Classic Fairy Tales Ref. PN 6071 .F15 A66 2002
  British Writers Ref. PR 85 .B688
  Charles Dickens A to Z Ref. PR 85 .B688
  Companion to Old and Middle English Literature Ref. PR 166 .C66 2002
  Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture Ref. PR 461 .C597 1999
  Encyclopedia of Literary Epics Ref. PN 56 .E65 J33 1996b
  Great Jobs for English Majors Ref. HF 5382.7 .D43 2006
  Lives of the Poets Ref. PR 502 .S35 1999
  Masterplots-British Fiction Series Ref. PR 825 .M37 1985
  NTC's Dictionary of Literary Terms Ref. PN 44.5 .M67x
  New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature Ref. Z 2011 .N45
  Oxford Companion to English Literature Ref. PR 19 .O94 2009
  Oxford Handbook of Tudor Literature Ref. PR 413 .O94 2009
  Reader's Guide to 20th Century Writers Ref. PR 471 .R43 1996
  Romanticism Ref. PR 457 .R4575 2005
  Shakespeare: An Anthology of Criticism Ref. PR 2970 .S495 2004
Browsing
Browse the shelves in Reference (3000 Level, Booth Library) or in the Bookstacks (1000 Level, Booth Library) in these call number areas:
 
  PE English Language
  PN General Literary History
  PR English Literature
Subject Specialist
Picture: Karen Whisler

Karen Whisler
Librarian for English, Philosophy, and Religion, and Government Documents Coordinator
klwhisler@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7551


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk