Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 3140: Ancient Greece

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Greece&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of the Greek World by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on the history of Ancient Greece that are held by the library can be found here.
Finding Reference Books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to the history of Ancient Greece are:

Cambridge Companion to the Hellenistic World ... Reference DE86 .C35 2006
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology ... Reference BL715 .D56 1998
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World ... Reference DF16 .S23 1995
Finding Books
Browsing for books on Ancient Greece
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number.  Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on Ancient Greece, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:
DE1-100 History of the Greco-Roman world
DE1-15.5 General
DE23-31 Geography
DE46-73.2 Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography
DE80-100 History
DF10-951 History of Greece
DF10-289 Ancient Greece
DF10-16 General
DF27-41 Geography. Travel
DF75-136 Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography
DF207-241 History
DF207-218 General
DF220-221 Bronze Age, Minoan, and Mycenaean ages
DF221.2-224 ca. 1125-500 B.C. Age of Tyrants
DF225-226 Persian wars, 499-479 B.C.
DF227-228 Athenian supremacy. Age of Pericles. 479-431 B.C.
DF229-230 Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C.
DF230.9-231.9 Spartan and Theban supremacies, 404-362 B.C.
DF232.5-233.8 Macedonian epoch. Age of Philip. 359-336 B.C.
DF234-234.9 Alexander the Great, 336-323 B.C.
DF235-238.9 Hellenistic period, 323-146.B.C.
DF239-241 Roman epoch, 140 B.C.-323/476 A.D.
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 



The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.



 
Finding Articles
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on Ancient Greece may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History database for Ancient Greece is:

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history including Greece)


Other databases useful for research on Ancient Greece are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk