Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 2500: Historical Research and Writing (Laughlin-Schultz)

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS%202500&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

LIBRARY RESOURCES FOR HIS 2500
Booth Library is a large academic library with a book and electronic collection to support research in all courses offered by the university, including History courses. The library resources include reference materials, books, journals, and online full-text databases. Books and journal articles may be obtained from other libraries by using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works for HIS 2500, including the research and writing of history as well as on John Brown and other antebellum reformers, that are held by the library can be found here.
FINDING REFERENCE BOOKS
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to HIS 2500 are:

American National Biography … REF CT213 .A68 1999
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing … Ref D14 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century … REF E169.1 .E626 2001
FINDING BOOKS
Browsing for books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books for HIS 2500 browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

D13-16 History, research and writing
E151-889 United States
E201-298 Revolution, 1775-1783
E300-453 Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861
E337.8-400 Early nineteenth century, 1801/1809-1845
E415.6-440.5 Middle nineteenth century, 1845/1848-1861
E456-655 Civil War period, 1861-1865
HQ1101-2030.7 Women
HV5001-5720.5 Alcohol. Temperance reform
JK1846-1929 Suffrage
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 



The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.


 
FINDING ARTICLES
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles for HIS 2500 may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History databases are:

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Other databases useful for research for HIS 2500 are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources for HIS 2500 use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:
 

Abolitionists: A Collection of their Writing … eBook via library catalog
American Antislavery Writings: Colonial Beginnings to Emancipation … Stacks E446 .A48 2012x
Frederick Douglass Papers … Stacks E449 .D733
Pre-Civil War Reform; The Variety of Principles and Programs … REF HN64 .R23

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for HIS 2500 are:

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)

London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Web-based primary resources
A list of web-based primary resource collections recommended for HIS 2500 is available here.