Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 3260: Modern Latin America

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS%203260&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of Latin American history by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on Latin American history that are held by the library can be found here.
FINDING REFERENCE BOOKS
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to Latin American history:

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture … REF F1406 .E53 2008
Historical Dictionary of Mexico … REF F1204 .B74 2008
Historical Dictionary of Paraguay … REF F2664 .K64 1993
Reference Guide to Latin American History … REF F1410 .H463 2000
FINDING BOOKS
Browsing for books on Latin American history
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on Latin American history, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

F1201-3799 Latin America F1201-1392 Mexico
F1218.5-1221 Antiquities F1421-1440 Central America
F1435-1435.3 Mayas F1461-1477 Guatemala
F1481-1497 El Salvador F1501-1517 Honduras
F1521-1537 Nicaragua F1541-1557 Costa Rica
F1561-1577 Panama F1751-1854.9 Cuba
F1931-1941 Dominican Republic F1951-1983 Puerto Rico
F2251-2299 Colombia F2301-2349 Venezuela
F2501-2659 Brazil F2661-2699 Paraguay
F2701-2799 Uruguay F2801-3021 Argentina
F3051-3285 Chile F3301-3359 Bolivia
F3401-3619 Peru F3701-3799 Ecuador
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 


The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.


 
FINDING ARTICLES
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on Latin American history may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History databases for Latin American history are:

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Other databases useful for research for Latin American history are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces related to Latin American history in the Booth Library collection are:‚Äč
  • Selected Writings of Bolivar … Stacks F2235.3 .A13
  • Britain and the Independence of Latin America, 1812-1830; Select Documents from the Foreign Office Archives ... Stacks F1416.G7 W4 1970
  • Kennedys and Cuba: The Declassified Documentary History … Stacks E183.8.C9 K46 1999

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases are:


New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)

London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)

American Periodicals Series Online (full-text articles, American Magazines, 1740`s-early 1900`s)

19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive (full-text articles, British magazines, 1800s)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk