A list of selected works on Vietnam War history that are held by the library can be found here.
Link to reference materials in electronic format here.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Examples of reference books related to the history of the Vietnam War:
A to Z of the Vietnam War … REF DS557.7 .M63 2005
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War … REF DS557.7 .E53 2011
Historical Dictionary of Vietnam … REF DS556.25 .D85 2006
To find books on the history of the Vietnam War, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:
DS531-560.72 French Indochina
DS556-559.93 Vietnam. Annam
DS557-559.9 Vietnamese Conflict
DS560-560.72 Democratic Republic (North Vietnam), 1945-
To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search.
The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.
Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.
Journal and magazine articles on history of the Vietnam War may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.
The leading History databases for the history of the Vietnam War are:
America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present)
Historical Abstracts (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)
Other databases useful for research for the Vietnam War are:
Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
To find primary sources on the Vietnam War in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.
Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:
America in Vietnam: A Documentary History … Stacks: Norton, 1989. DS558 .A44 1985
Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam … Stacks DS559.5 .D43 1985
Vantage Point: Perspectives of the Presidency, 1963-1969 (Johnson) … Stacks E846 .J58
Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.
Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for Vietnam War research are:
Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)
London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)
New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)