A list of selected works on the history of human rights that are held by the library can be found here.
Link to reference materials in electronic format here.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Examples of reference books related to the history of Human Rights:
Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States … REF KF4747.5 .C37 2011
Human Rights in the United States: A Dictionary and Documents … REF KF4747.5 .C37 2000
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations … REF JC571 .G655 1997
To find books on the history of Human Rights, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:
KF Law of the United States
JC571-605 Purpose, functions, and relations of the state
K3224-3278 Law. Individual and state
To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search.
The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.
Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.
Journal and magazine articles on the history of Human Rights may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.
The leading History databases for the study of Human Rights are:
America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present)
Historical Abstracts (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)
Other databases useful for research on the history of Human Rights are:
Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
To find primary sources on the history of Human Rights in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.
Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:
Foreign Relations of the United States … Stacks JX233 .A3
Human Rights Reader: Major Political Essays, Speeches, and Documents from Ancient Times to the Present … Stacks JC571 .H7699 2007
Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.
Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for the history of Human Rights are:
Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)
London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)
New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)