Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

United Nations - Universal Declaration of Human Rights

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS3555&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.
Reference Resources
Reference resources can be found in both print and electronic format. Do not discount the print collections, especially if your research is historical in nature. Not all research has been converted to a digital format and many valuable resources may slip past. Below you will find a sampling of items available to you:


Print - Human Rights:
Encyclopedia of Human Rights 
REF JC571 .E673 2009
The Human Rights Encyclopedia
REF JC571 .L523 2001
World Human Rights Guide
REF JC571 .H788 1992
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations
REF JC571 .G655 2017
Human Rights: An International and  Comparative Law Bibliography
REF K3236 .H86 1985





Print - United Nations:
Everyone's United Nations
REF JX1977.A37 E9
Historical Dicionary of The United Nation
REF JX1976 .B395 1995
A Chronology and Fact Book of The United Nations, 1941-1976
REF JX1977 .C48222 1976
Encyclopedia of The United Nations
REF KZ4968 .M66 2002
Encyclopedia of The United Nations and International Agreements
REF KZ4968 .O84 2003
Great Debates at The United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues
REF KZ4968 .G67 2001




Print - Biography:
Current Biography
REF CT100 .C8
World Biography
REF CT120 .W65 1948
American National Biography
REF CT213 .A68 1999
Who's Who in the Arab World
REF D198.3 .W5
The Nobel Peace Prize and the Laureates
REF JZ 5540 .A27 2001

 

Electronic Reference Resources:
Below is a list of electronic reference resources that may be useful to your search. To explore these and other electronic reference resources click the "Reference Resources" link on the front page of the Booth Library website.




GALE Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
SAGE Knowledge E-Reference Collection
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
Books and Media
In addition to the resources you find in the reference collection, you will also find relevant items in the circulating collection. Searching the online collection will give you results AND a call number range to search. When you seek out an item in the bookstacks, be sure to scan the adjacent items for additional titles that may have been overlooked in your online search.

Yearbook of the United Nations
JX1977.A37 Y4
The United Nations and Human Rights
K3240.4 .U48 1984
United Nations Actions in the Field of Human Rights
K3240.4 .U45 1980
Human Rights & The United Nations: A Great Adventure
K3240.4 .H85 1984
The International Bill of Human Rights
K3238.A1 I533 1981
The International Bill of Human Rights
JC571 .U413x
What are Human Rights?
K3240.4 .C7x 1973
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights: Origins, Drafting, and Intent
K3238.31948 .M67 1999
Inventing Human Rights: A History
JC585 .H89 2007
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
K3238.31948 .D37 2010
A World Made New
K3238.31948 .G58 2001
Eleanor Roosevelt
E807.1.R48 C66 1992
Eleanor Roosevelt's My Day
E807.1.R48 A3 1989
Charles Malik
Electronic Video
Democracy in The Americas  (Searching Ricardo Alfaro)
H1 .A4 vol.204 -206
Booth Articles
Booth Library maintains subscriptions to a number of databases that can contribute to your search. Although you might start your search using the articles tab on the Booth Library website, do not limit yourself to these results.
There is no single search that can check coverage across all our databases, so be sure to use the options below the search box for a more thorough search:


For stronger results, use the "Explore by Subject" tab to view the recommended databases for your field of study:



Newspapers
Booth Library subscibes to a collecion of newspapers that may provide relevant contemporary information for your search. Under the "Articles" tab on Booth's main page, you will see a link to 'Newspapers':



Following this link takes you to a list of both individual newspapers and collections that Booth Library subscribes to:


HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
You can search HathiTrust throguh the Booth Library website or through the organizations webiste. To limit you Booth Library search to HathiTrust results, use the location facet on the righthand side of your results page:
The United Nations

The United Nations Library maintains a collection of documents and resources that are available online here:

http://research.un.org

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Andy Cougill

Andy Cougill
Reference Librarian
aacougill@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7548


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk