A list of selected works on the history of the Arab-Israeli Conflict that are held by the library can be found here.
Link to reference materials in electronic format here.
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.
Examples of reference books related to the history of the Arab-Israeli Conflict:
A to Z of the Arab-Israeli Conflict … REF DS119.7 .K85 2009x
Historical Dictionary of Israel … REF DS126.5 .R38 2008
Historical Dictionary of Palestine … REF DS102.8 .N397 1997
To find books on the history of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:
DS36-39.2 Arab countries
DS41-66 Middle East
DS101-151 Israel – Palestine
To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search.
The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.
Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.
Journal and magazine articles on history of the Arab-Israeli Conflict may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.
The leading History database for the history of the Arab-Israeli Conflict is:
Historical Abstracts (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)
Other databases useful for research for the Arab-Israeli Conflict are:
Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present)
JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)
To find primary sources on the Arab-Israeli Conflict in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.
Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:
Arab-Israeli Conflict (volume 3: Documents) … Stacks DS119.7 .A6718 1974x
Battling for Peace: A Memoir (Peres) … Stacks DS126.6.P47 A3 1995
Breakthrough (Dayan) ... Stacks DS128.183 .D39 1981
Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.
Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for Arab-Israeli Conflict research are:
Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)
London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)
New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)