Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 4865: Alexander the Great

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS4865&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the information needs of HIS 4865: Alexander the Great. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A short list of selected works on Alexander the Great that are held by the library can be found here.
Finding Reference Books
Reference books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to HIS 4865: Alexander the Great are:

Cambridge Companion to the Hellenistic World … Ref DE86 .C35 2006
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World … REF DF16.S23 1995
Oxford Classical Dictionary … REF DE5.O9 2012
Finding Books
Browsing for books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books for HIS 4865: Alexander the Great, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

DE1 to DE100 History of the Greco-Roman world
DF10 to DF951 History of Greece
DF10 to DF289 Ancient Greece
DF232.5 to DF233.8 Macedonian epoch. Age of Philip. 359-336 B.C.
DF234 to DF234.9 Alexander the Great, 336-323 B.C.
DF235 to DF238.9 Hellenistic period, 323-146.B.C
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 


The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.



 
Finding Articles
Article Databases

Journal and magazine articles for HIS 4865: Alexander the Great may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the library's databases here.

Useful databases for HIS 4865: Alexander the Great are:

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources on Alexander the Great in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:

Arrian: History of Alexander and Indica (2 vols.) … Stacks PA3612.A83x
Quintus Curtius: History of Alexander … Stacks PA6156.C9x
Plutarch's Lives … Stacks PA3612 .P7x
Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk