Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 4880 Modern Japan: From Samurai to Freeters

D2L embed


Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.


Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of the history of Modern Japan by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on the history of Modern Japan that are held by the library can be found here.

Return to this guide at
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to Modern Japanese history:

Concise Dictionary of Modern Japanese History … REF DS881.9 .H86 1984
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia … REF DS4 .L48 2002
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia … REF DS805 .J263 1993
Japan Encyclopedia … REF DS821 .F73 2002
Browsing for books on Modern Japanese history
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on the history of Modern Japan, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

DS801-897 Japan
DS833-891.5 Japan History
DS894.215-897 Japan Local history and description
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 

The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.

Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on Modern Japanese history may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History database for the history of Modern Japan is:

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Other databases useful for research for Modern Japanese history are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present)

Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. Booth Library has prepared a guide to primary and secondary sources here.

To find primary sources in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces for the history of Modern Japan in the Booth Library collection are:

Japan: A Documentary History … DS835 .J37 1997
Japan at War: An Oral History … Stacks D811.A2 C62 1992
Journal of the Perry Expedition to Japan (1853-1854) … HathiTrust via EIU Library Catalog
Logbook of the Captain's Clerk: Adventures in the China Seas … Stacks DS507 .S49 1995
Modern Japan: A History in Documents … Stacks DS881.9.H85 2004

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases are:

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)

London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Andy Cougill

Andy Cougill
Reference Librarian
Office: 217 581-7548

Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
Office: 217 581-6061

Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk