Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 5110: History Museum Exhibits I

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS5110&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of museums and Illinois history by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on relevant aspects of Illinois history for HIS 5110 that are held by the library can be found here.
FINDING REFERENCE BOOKS
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to the history of the Illinois are:

Encyclopedia of Chicago ... Ref F548.3 .E53 2004
Illinois: A History of the Land and Its People ... Stacks F541.3 .B55 2005
Illinois Encyclopedia ... Stacks F539 .I44 2008x

 
FINDING BOOKS
Browsing for books on Illinois history
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on museums or Illinois history, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:

AM1 to 501 Museums; Collectors and collecting
F536 to 550 Illinois
F550.5 to 553.2 Great Lakes
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 

The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.

 
FINDING ARTICLES
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on Illinois history may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History databases for Illinois history is:

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Other databases useful for research for Illinois history are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)


JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Grove Art Online (covers the visual arts, including Chicago and Illinois)

Grove Music Online (covers music, including Chicago and Illinois)

MLA International Bibliography (covers literature, including Chicago and Illinois)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, memoirs, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources on Illinois history in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for Illinois history are:

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk