Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 57001: Great War & Its Consequences

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HIS57001&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of the Great War and its consequences by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on the history of the Great War and its consequences that are held by the library can be found here.  
FINDING REFERENCE BOOKS
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to the history of the Great War:

Encyclopedia of American Military History … REF E181.E63 2003
European Powers in the First World War:  An Encyclopedia ... REF D510 .E97 1996
World War I:  An Encyclopedia … REF D510.E53 2005
FINDING BOOKS
Browsing for books on the Great War
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on the history of the Great War, browse the shelves in this call number range:

D501-680 World War I (1914-1918)
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 

The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.
FINDING ARTICLES
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on history of the Great War may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History databases for the history of the Great War are:

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Other databases useful for research for the Great War are:
 

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources on the Great War in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection are:

Memoirs of Marshal Foch … Stacks D530 .F55
My Experiences in the World War (Pershing) … Stacks D570 .P44 1931
Papers of Woodrow Wilson … Stacks E660 .W717
Paris Peace Conference, 1919 (Foreign Relations of the United States) … Stacks D642 .U6
Scarlet Fields:  The Combat Memoir of a World War I Medal of Honor Hero … Stacks D570.9 .B28 2012
Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph … Stacks D568.4 .L4 1991
World War I Memoirs of Robert P. Patterson: A Captain in the Great War ….. Stacks D570.9 .P37 2012
 

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases useful for Great War research are:

Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles, 1849-1990)

London Times (full-text articles, 1785-1985)

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk