Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

History Databases

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=HistoryDatabases&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Top Picks
America: History and Life Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: United States History | Pre-Colonial Era to Present | Canadian History

Historical Abstracts Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: World History | Excluding the United States and Canada 
Databases, Secondary Sources
JSTOR Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences

Project Muse Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Cultural Studies | Education | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences.
 
Academic Search Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Broad Subject Coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture 

American History in Video
Streaming Video | United States History | Documentaries | Archival Footage | Newsreels | Public Affairs Footage

World History in Video
Streaming Video | Explore Human History | Global in Scope | War | Natural Disasters | Space Exploration | Globalization

Clase and Periodica
Scholarly Articles | Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English Languages | 24 Latin American and Caribbean Countries

Digital Image Collections Open Access
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.

Dissertations and Theses (WorldCat)
Over 8 million records representing all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations cataloged in WorldCat.
 
EBSCOhost Mobile
EBSCOhost Mobile is tailor-made for the smaller screens of mobile devices, and offers the most important EBSCOhost features and functionality, right in the palm of your hand! EBSCOhost Mobile is compatible with BlackBerry, Dell Axiom, iPhone, and Palm 750.

Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the "Find it @ EIU " link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals.
 
Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present : Millennial Edition
Published in 2006, this resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.

Humanities International Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Authors | Artists | Musicians | Literature & Theater Criticism | Fiction, Short Story, Poetry, Drama Criticism | Photography | Painting | Music | Theater | Graphic Arts | Film | Contemporary Arts | Society & Culture

Lexis-Nexis
Newspapers | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | Legal Research | Case Law | Law Reviews | Corporate Information

Newspaper Library, University of Illinois Open Access
Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."

Oxford English Dictionary
English Words | Meaning | History | Pronunciation | Quotations

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index to Popular Magazines | 1890 to 1982 | Some Linked to Fulltext Articles
 
Social Sciences Abstracts Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Citations and abstracts of journal articles in all areas of the social sciences (1983 to present).
Databases, Primary Sources
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Fulltext | Digitized facsimile reproductions of Virtually Every Work Printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America | 1473-1700

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Partnership
Public domain downloadable text files of 25,000+ titles from EEBO. This is the public release of phase I of the EEBO TCP

19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection
Topics: British Magazines | 1800s | Victorian Life and Culture

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Topics: Fulltext Articles | African-American Newspapers | 1800`s

American Periodicals Series Online
Topics: American Magazines | 1740`s - Early 1900`s
 
American Popular Entertainment Collection Open Access
Historic newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the US between 1853 and 1929. These works include trade perspectives, features, and travel information on vaudeville, music performance, burlesque, and other popular forms of entertainment of the period.

ArchiveGrid
Subset of WorldCat helpful for Identifying Collections Held in Archives | Historical Documents | Personal Papers | Family Histories 

Black Thought and Culture
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006

British Periodicals
Topics: British History and Culture | 1680s to the 1930s
 
Chicago Tribune (Historical)
Fulltext Articles | 1849-1990 

Chronicling America Open Access
Selected Fulltext Newspaper Pages | California | District of Columbia | Florida | Kentucky | Minnesota | Nebraska | New York | Texas | Utah | Virginia | 1836 to 1922

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Topics: Fulltext Articles | New York Herald | Charleston Mercury | Richmond Enquirer | November 1, 1860 to April 15, 1865

Documenting the American South Open Access
Fulltext Digital Collections | Colonial Period Through the First Decades of the 20th Century | Primary Sources | Diaries | Letters 

English Short-Title Catalog
The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of books, pamphlets and other ephemeral materials produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.

Godey's Ladys Book
American Magazine Published for Women 1830-1885 | Color Plates | Fashion | Literature | Health and Hygiene | Recipes | Handicrafts

Harper's Weekly
Fulltext Articles | 1857-1889
HathiTrust Open Access
1.2 million 19th and 20th century books in the public domain digitized from libraries around the world and covering all subjects. Search the Hathi Trust interface or find and access titles directly through the EIU library catalog.

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection Open Access
Historic Illinois Newspapers | 1831-1975 | Urbana Daily Courier | Sangamo Journal | University of Illinois collegiate newspaper The Daily Illini | And More 

Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps
Insurance Maps of Illinois Towns and Cities from 1867 to 1970 | Placement of Homes and Businesses | Building Sizes and Addresses | Property Boundaries, etc.

In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience Open Access
The Web site is organized around thirteen defining migrations in America | Illustrations | Maps | Lesson Plans | Related Web Sites 

Making of America (Cornell University) Open Access
Fulltext Articles | Primary Sources | American Social History | Roughly 1800-1925

Making of America (University of Michigan) Open Access
Fulltext Books | Primary Sources | Education | Religion | History | Sociology | Technology | Science | Roughly 1800-1925

New York Times (Historical)
Fulltext Articles | 1851-2010

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (NCSE) Open Access
Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833) | Northern Star (1838-1852) | Leader (1850-1860) | English Woman's Journal (1858-1864) | Tomahawk (1867-1870) | Publishers' Circular (1880-1890)

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800`s | Benjamin Franklin`s Newspaper | Firsthand View of Colonial America

Times (London) Digital Archive
Fulltext Articles | 1785-1985

Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War Open Access
American Civil War | Letters | Diaries | Memoirs | Census Records | Church Records | Government Records | Battle Reports | Speeches | Photographs

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Open Access
Records of 35,000 Slaving Voyages | 1514 to 1866

Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
History (1600-2000) of U. S. women in social movements | Primary Documents | Online Journal | Notable American Women (1971-2004) |Publications of Federal, State, and Local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.