Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

FCS 2270 :: Housing in Foreign Countries

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=House&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

International Housing
Finding data on housing involves assembling information from several different sources and the amount of information available varies from country to country. The Library has put together this list of sources to help you look for the information you need.

Please contact Reference Services, 3000 Level Booth Library, 217-581-6072 for individual assistance or use Ask-a-Librarian to initiate a chat session or send an email question.
Sources for Country Information
Maps, location & country size, population, marital status, income, poverty rate, types of jobs, economy, technology, household size, average family size, culture, climate.

Find the following books in Booth Library's main floor reference collection. These books cannot be checked out, but they provide brief, very useful overviews.


Countries & Their Cultures
Ref. GN 307 .C68 2001
General background information including demography, economy, history, culture, daily life, architecture, family and social life.

Countries of the World
Ref. G 122 .C68x
Current information including demography, economy, history, labor conditions, political conditions, travel advisories and child adoption information.

CultureGrams
RefDesk GT 150 .C85 2006
General information on climate, history, people, customs, lifestyles and family life.

Statesman's Yearbook
Ref. JA 51 .S7
Current information on history, climate, economy, labor, education, health and welfare.

World Factbook
Ref. G 122 .U56a
Current information on geography, climate, people, society, government and economy.


Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life
Ref. GN 333 .W67 2009
Information arranged by ethnic group.  Check Country Index at the front of each volume to identify ethnic groups in each country.  General background information on cultural history, living conditions, family life, social problems and gender issues.
Sources for International Housing Information
Government policy, trends, housing cost and affordability, living conditions and housing quality, and architectural styles.

Global Housing Watch
http://www.imf.org/external/research/housing/

United Nations Compendium of Housing Statistics (Does not include all countries)
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/Demographic/sconcerns/housing/housing2.htm

Find the following books in Booth Library's main floor reference collection:


Encyclopedia of Housing
Ref. HD 7287 .E53 2012


Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Ref. NA 680 .E495 2004
Articles on Housing & Country
Use the Articles search box, on the library homepage, to find articles on government policy, trends, housing cost and affordability, living conditions and housing quality.

Example using the Articles search box which includes helpful databases like Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite and Hospitality & Tourism Complete:


Other useful databases for articles on housing policy, housing economics, etc.

EconLit
Historical Abstracts
Social Sciences Abstracts

For articles on Architectural Styles, see Art Abstracts
Vernacular or Traditional Architecture
Vernacular architecture is a category of architecture based on local needs, construction materials; reflecting local traditions

Sources (Unless otherwise noted, find these books in Booth Library's main floor reference collection):


Atlas of vernacular architecture of the world
Ref. Oversize NA208 .V45 2007


Colors of the World
NA 2795 .L42513 2004
Located on the fourth floor of the library. This book can be checked out.

Dwellings: the House across the World
Ref. NA 7125 .O44 1987


Dwellings: the Vernacular House World Wide
Ref. NA 7125 .O443 2007x


Traditional Buildings: a Global Survey of Structural Forms and Cultural Functions
Ref. NA 208 .N63 2007x


Traditional Houses from Around the World (Children's Book)
Ref. NA 7110 .S64x 2000


Wonderful Houses Around the World (Children's Book)
Ref. NA 7110 .K64 2004
Remember to Cite Your Work!
Examples of APA formatted citations are available at:
Booth Library APA Style Guide


Find a print copy of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, 2010