Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

PSY 3805: Research Methods and Experimental Design

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=PSY3805&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
wnschultz@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-8457


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

PSY3805 Research Methods/Experimental Design
Examination of research methodology in psychology, including observational, experimental, and survey techniques. Provides opportunity to design research, analyze data, and write scientific reports. 4 Credits.
This is designated as a Writing Intensive Course.
Prerequisites: Statistical Methods of Psychology (PSY 2610) with a grade of C or better.

Here docx is a link to the handout from the 1/13/16 library instruction session for a section of this course.
Related Book List
These are just related readings, not course readings.
SAGE Handbook of Social Psychology

Call number:
HM1033.S24 2007x
 
Encyclopedia of measurement and Statistics

Call number (Reference):
HA29.S2363 2007
 
Classic Experiments in Psychology

Call number:
BF198.7.M66 2004
 
Advanced Rsearch Methods in Psychology

Call number:
BF76.5.G55 2002
 
   
Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of information resources in general to support students of PSY 3805: Research Methods and Experimental Design, and Psychology. Resources include the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection, online full-text databases, and e-books. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained through CARLI and/or using interlibrary loan.
Searching the Catalog and Databases
Subject Headings in Searches

Subject headings (aka topics) are also helpful tools for targeting particular areas of research. You can find these in typical catalog book records like this:



Here are a few examples that could be helpful in this course:

Psychology, Applied

Psychology, Experimental

Psychology - Research
Some Useful Databases
PsycArticles (full text)
PsycInfo (some full text)
Academic Search Complete (full text)
Pubmed
Newspaper Source (full text)
 
Use connecting words to refine your search
Example search:  (“cognitive impairment”) in subject field and memory in a “all text”  or “title” search
 
Use quotation marks around phrases as demonstrated above, or with others like “emotion regulation”
Using Databases
Databases typically search for articles within journals. They also tell you what has been published, but not necessarily if we have it or not. Many articles are available in full text. For example, PsychArticles.

Please note, some databases (like PsychArticles and PsycInfo) look the same, but you can determine exactly what you are searching by looking here:


and NOT here:




To get to the databases go to the library homepage: http://www.library.eiu.edu
Click on “Databases” link in middle of page, then either choose a subject to browse from the dropdown menu and choose psychology databases, or go to “All Databases” to choose one alphabetically (see sample list in box below)