Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Philosophy & Religion

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Phil&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Browsing
The Library of Congress Classification System arranges books by Subject, so browsing the shelves in Reference (3000 Level, Booth Library) or in the Bookstacks (1000 Level, Booth Library) in these call number areas will introduce you to the collection in Philosophy & Religion.  This is a very large collection, so use the Online Catalog to locate titles on specific subjects, for example: "Kant and Ethics."
 
  B General Philosophy
  BC Logic
  BD Speculative Philosophy
  BH Aesthetics
  BJ Ethics
  BL Religions, Mythology
  BM Judaism
  BP Islam
  BQ Buddhism
  BR Christianity
  BS Bible
  BT Christianity: Doctrinal theology
  BV Christianity: Practical theology
  BX Christian Denominations
 
Find Books
Search for books in the EIU Online Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.  See sample search below:

Limit results under the "Narrow Search section.  "Topics" are especially useful:
This search found 215 titles, including books, ebooks and dvds.

Find Articles
Try our Basic Journal Article Search

 
Lexis-Nexis

Or use online indexes to locate journal articles online, in print at Booth Library or available through InterLibrary Loan.
Here are some indexes recommended for research in Philosophy & Religion:
  • Philosopher's Index (Includes Peer Reviewed Content)
    Topics: Aesthetics | Axiology | Epistemology | Ethics | Logic | Metaphilosophy | Metaphysics | Philosophical Anthropology | Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Religion & Science | Political Philosophy | Social Philosophy
  • JSTOR (Includes Peer Reviewed Content)
    Topics: Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
  • Project Muse (Includes Peer Reviewed Content)
    Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Theater | Cultural Studies | Education | Philosophy | Religion | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete (Includes Peer Reviewed Content)
    Topics: Broad Subject Coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture
Online Reference Resources
Use reference resources, both online and in print to learn about key concepts in Philolosphy & Religion.

Asian American Religious Cultures
Traditional belief systems | Buddhism | Confucianism |Hinduism | Islam | Micronesian and Polynesian religious traditions in the United States | Culture and religious rituals of Asian American Christians.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States
Historical and Contemporary Issues in American Religion | Controversies | Abortion | Intelligent Design | Scientology

Heaven, Hell, and the Afterlife: Eternity in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam
Examination of historic and contemporary perspectives on eternity
Print Reference Resources
The Reference Room, located on the 3000 Level of Booth Library, offers many handy reference titles than can help you with your research.  Here are a few examples:
 
Ref. B 51 .O94 2005x Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Ref. B 72 .C59 1987 Fifty Major Philosophers
Ref. B 72 .K43 2004 Basics of Western Philosophy
Ref. B72 .S64 2008 World Philosophies
Ref. B 121 .E53 2001 Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Ref. B 111 .P74 2007 Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy
Ref. BL 60 .B315 2008 Battleground Religion
Ref. BJ 63 .E54 1994 Ethics
Ref. BL 65 .H64 H63 2007 Homosexuality and Religion
Ref. BL 65 .H78 H8595 2004 Human Rights and the World's Major Religions
Ref. BL 325 .C7 L44 Encyclopedia of Creation Myths
Ref. BL 1105 .J56 2007 Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Ref. BL 2400 .E53 2009 Encyclopedia of African Religion
Ref. BL 2525 .W485 2002 America's Religions from their Origins to the 21st Century
Ref. BL 2530 .H3 F55 2007 Haitian VoDou Handbook
Ref. BP 133 .Q72x 2006 Quran: an Encyclopedia
Ref. BP 161.2 .D46613 2010 Islam in the World Today
Ref. BP 161.3 .G85 2004 Understanding Islam and Muslim Traditions
Ref. BQ 130 .P75 2014 Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
Ref. BS 440 .T57 2007 All Things in the Bible
Ref. BS 1225.3 .P55 1981 Torah: A Modern Commentary
Ref. BX 4931.3 .C67 2010 Concise Encyclopedia of Amish…
Ref. BX 8605.5 .M67 2010 Mormonism
   
Subject Specialist
Karen Whisler
Librarian for Philosophy & Religion
klwhisler@eiu.edu
271-581-7551

Reference Desk 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk