Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Psychology

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=Psychology&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Psychology Research Guide
Database and Catalog Searches
Databases typically search for articles within journals. They also tell you what has been published, but not necessarily if we have it or not. Many articles are available in full text.
Some Useful Database Examples:
 
PsycArticles (full text)
PsycINFO (some full text)
Academic Search Complete (full text)
Newspaper Source (full text)

Library Catalog
As opposed to databases…the library catalog searches for books and journals (as well as music, dvds, and e-books). An easy way to think of it is that it tells you what the library physically has…or provides for you. Catalog sources can be equally valuable. Below is a search box for the library catalog:
EIU Online Catalog Search
Results will display in a new window
Other resources
Subject Encyclopedias

Print subject encyclopedias are great starting points as well, and available in the Reference stacks for just about every subject area, including Psychology. They are easy to discover using "encyclopedias" in a subject field and "psychology" (or another term) in the subject field in the Booth Library catalog. Here are a few examples:


 
  • Encyclopedia Of Psychological Assessment
  • BF39 .E497 2003
  • summary | details
  • Encyclopedia Of Applied Psychology
  • BF636 .E52x 2004
  • summary | details
 
  • Child: An Encyclopedic Companion
  • HQ767.84 .C55 2009
  • summary | details
  • Gale Encyclopedia Of Genetic Disorders
  • RB155.5 .G35 2005
  • summary | details
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
wnschultz@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-8457


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk