Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Surveys: Finding Sample Questionnaires, Tests & Surveys

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=SampSurv&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Surveys, Questionnaires, etc.

Research articles may have a survey, questionnaire, or test instrument used to provide data for the article attached as an appendix or contained somewhere in the article.

The ERIC/EBSCO database provides a useful search strategy to help find these instruments.  Type a keyword or words related to the topic you are researching in the top search box (for example: sports participation) and then type Tests/Questionnaires in the second entry box and choose PU Publication Type from the dropdown menu to the right.









You should retrieve a list of articles with tests, questionnaires or surveys attached or contained in the article


“Appended” can also be used in searches in the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases. However, when using this strategy in these particular databases, the results are varied and may demonstrate one of three things:
 
  1. items from the instrument are reproduced in a figure or table
  2. items from the test are described in the methods section
  3. or…(less commonly) that the full instrument is included as an appendix

Unfortunately, there is no way to learn which is the case in any results without examining the full text of each item.

To illustrate further using the PsycARTICLES or PsycINFO databases, you can search a topic like Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in Subjects (SU) AND the word “appended” in Tests & Measures (TM) using the dropdown menus. When you look at the detailed description of an article from the results (by clicking on an article title), you will find “Tests & Measures” as you scroll down, among the other article details with a display similar to this:












Although the full measurement instrument or test that is listed may not be available within the article, it can be useful to know what tests were used or referred to in an article. The title of any given test or measure can then be searched as quoted text in a keyword or all text search to find other articles that use or refer to it.
Other Sources


These print volumes, available in the Reference Room on the main floor or 3000 Level, contain actual surveys, questionnaires and test instruments

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, 4th Edition
call number Ref. BF 176 .C66 2007

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, 5th Edition
call number: Ref. BF 176 .C66 2013x

Handbook of Tests & Measures in Education & the Social Sciences
call number: Ref. LB 3051 .L4543 2000

Handbook of Tests & Measures in Education & the Social Sciences
call number: Ref. LB 3051 .L4543 2014

Handbook of Literacy Assessment
call number: Ref. LB 3051 .H343x 2006

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
call number: Ref. HQ 60 .H36 1998

Try these links to see a wider variety of books about Psychological testing and Educational tests and measurements.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Mental Measurements Yearbook, or MMY, is a resource which provides descriptive and evaluative reviews of over 3500 test instruments. The tests reviewed in the MMY are all in the English language and commercially available (although tests reviewed in older volumes may be out of print).  Booth Library subscribes to MMY online and also owns all MMY volumes going back to 1938.  The newest Mental Measurements Yearbook, the 20th, was published in 2017.

Print volumes are available in the West Reference Room, 3rd floor of Booth Library, under the call number Ref. Z5814.P8 R93.

Please remember that MMY will not give you access to an actual test; it only reviews the validity and utility of a test. Also, MMY is very selective. They do not review every test.
Contact your Librarians
Michele McDaniel, Librarian for the College of Education
MkMcDaniel@eiu.edu
217-581-6099

Bill Schultz, Librarian for Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology
wnschultz@eiu.edu
217-581-8457

Research Help Desk
3000 Level, Booth Library
217-581-6072
booth.eiu.edu/ask