Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 2010G: History of the United States to 1877

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=US%20to%201877&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of information resources to support the study of United States history to 1877 by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

A list of selected works on United States history to 1877 that are held by the library can be found here
Finding Reference Books
Reference books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.

Link to reference materials in electronic format here.

Reference books are located on the 3rd floor (north) and can be found by searching the EIU Library Catalog.

Examples of reference books related to United States history to 1877 are:
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 … REF E185 .E545 2006
  • Encyclopedia of American History … REF E174.E53 2003
  • Historical Dictionary of the Early American Republic … REF E301.B79 2006
  • Oxford Companion to United States History … REF E174 .O94 2001
Finding Books
Browsing for books on United States history t
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.

To find books on United States history to 1877, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:


E151-889 United States
E201-298 Revolution, 1775-1783
E300-453 Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861
E337.8-400 Early nineteenth century, 1801/1809-1845
E415.6-440.5 Middle nineteenth century, 1845/1848-1861
E456-655 Civil War period, 1861-1865
E660-738 Late nineteenth century, 1865-1900
 
Searching the EIU Library Catalog
To find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held in the library use the EIU Library Catalog

To search the catalog enter search terms in the search box and use the drop box to narrow the search. 


The search results may be narrowed by using the limiting tools on the right hand side of the page.

Click on the item title to bring up the bibliographic record. The item's location, call number, and status are needed to find it in Booth Library.

Finding Articles
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on United States History may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History database for United States history is:

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Other databases useful for research for United States history to 1877 are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

To find primary sources in the print format search use the EIU Library Catalog. Link to the library catalog here.

Examples of primary souces in the Booth Library collection related to United States history to are:
  • Correspondence of James K. Polk ... Stacks E337.8.P63
  • Illinois’s War: The Civil War in Documents … Stacks E505 .I46 2013
  • Journals of the Continental Congress 1774-1789 … Stacks J10 .A5 
  • Letters of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, with Related Documents, 1783-1854 … Stacks F592.7 .J14
  • Memoirs of General W.T. Sherman ... Stacks E467.1.S55 A3 1990
  • Papers of Alexander Hamilton ... Stacks E302 .H247 
 

Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and thenewspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases are:

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (full-text articles, African-American newspapers, 1800`s)

American Periodicals Series Online (full-text articles, American Magazines, 1740`s-early 1900`s)

Pennsylvania Gazette (full-text articles, 1728-1800)

19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive (full-text articles, British magazines, 1800s)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Brad Tolppanen

Brad Tolppanen
Head of Circulation Services
bptolppanen@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6071


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk