Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

EDF 2555: Adopt a Nation

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=adoptacountry&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Reference Sources
  • Encyclopedia Of Special Education: A Reference for the Education Of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individ
  • LC4007 .E53 2013
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Room, 3000 Level
  • Encyclopedia Of Special Education: A Reference for the Education Of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
  • LC4007 .E53 2000
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Room, 3000 Level
  •  
  •  
  • International Encyclopedia Of Education
  • LB15 .I569 1994
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Room, 3000 Level
  • International Encyclopedia Of Education.
  • LB15 .I569 2010 v. 5
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Desk, 3000 level
  • Proquest Statistical Abstract Of the United States.
  • HA202
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Room, 3000 level
  • World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey Of Educational Systems Worldwide
  • LB15 .W87 2001
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Desk, 3000 level
  • Routledge International Encyclopedia Of Education
  • LB15 .R633 2008
  • summary | details
  • Location: Reference Room, 3000 Level
Searching for Books
To find additional resources for your topic, try searching the EIU catalog in the box below. 
For example, try education country as a keyword search (i.e. education Germany)

We also have a variety of Ebooks related to Education in Springer and EBSCO. Use your same search strategies below in the Ebooks box (select either Springer or EBSCO) to see what we have.
EIU Online Catalog Search
Results will display in a new window
Ebooks
 
  Sage EBSCO
Internet Resources
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (summarizes the U.S.'s relationship with other countries): http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn 

Eurydice/Eurypedia  (recent descriptions of national educational systems): https://webgate.ec.europa.eu/fpfis/mwikis/eurydice/index.php/Countries

United Nations Development  Programme-Human  Development Report (provides an overview of Human Development Indicators, including Education, for each country. Click on Country Profiles from top menu, select your country, and go to Education): http://hdr.undp.org/en/countries

United Nations Statistics—Social Indicators (contains Excel spreadsheets listing each country on different topics. You will want to find the topic you are interested in, download the spreadsheet, and then find the data for your specific country): http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/socind/default.htm

World Factbook (basic country profiles; choose your country from the dropdown menu): https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

Unesco - Institute for Statistics (searchable by country and provides tables with data about different aspects of education): 
http://uis.unesco.org/
Subject Specialist
‚Äč
Michele McDaniel
Ballenger Teacher Center (BTC) Coordinator
Subject Specialist for Education, Counseling, and Student Development
BTC Phone: 217-581-8442
Office Phone (voicemail): 217-581-6099
Email: mkmcdaniel@eiu.edu
 
Databases
Databases to try include
EBSCO Professional Development Collection, Academic Search Complete, and ERIC.
--You can get to them by choosing the Subject Resources tab on the Library Home Page.

First:
Image of Library Homepage with Research By Subject highlighted

Then: 
Image of subjects

Then click on ERIC/EBSCO:
Image of how to navigate to EBSCO


Check Academic Search Complete and the Professional Development Collection and click Continue (You can search all three at the same time):
Image of Ebsco menu of databases

Type your search terms.
Search Hint:
Use words in combination in both the EIU Catalog and in Databases (use your concept map handout to come up with alternative vocabulary):
Choose one from a, one from b, and one from c; for example education gender Japan    
     a. education, educational
     b. diversity, minority, gender, ethnic, women, disabled, handicapped
     c. international, global, world, your country name
Image of an EBSCO Search

Click Search and start to look through your results. Pay attention to the title of each article, and the subjects that go along with them. You can narrow by subject on the side menu.
Image of search results page



When you find an article you like, click on its title. Look at the descriptors/subjects, read the abstract, and look for availability. If you like certain descriptors/subjects, write them down as alternative terms to search later. If you like the article, and we have the full text, go ahead and go to it. You can then either save it, or print it.
Image of the article view, including abstract and subjects/descriptors


If the article you choose has a Get Full Text link, click on it:
second image of an article record


It will take you to a screen like this:
Image of interlibrary loan request window

If we have the full text available at EIU, there will be a link to it. If we don't, click on the link to request the document through Interlibrary Loan.