Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 3940 - History of American Journalism

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=american_journalism_history&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents. A guide to further information on primary and secondary sources can be found here.

Lists of sources for newspapers on microfilm can be found below:
  ‚Äč
‚ÄčThese materials can be found in the microforms area, 1000 North.


Booth Library also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources. Link to the History databases here and the newspaper databases here.

Examples of the library's historical and magazine databases are:

New York Times (Historical) (full-text articles, 1851-2010)

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (full-text articles, African-American newspapers, 1800`s)

American Periodicals Series Online (full-text articles, American Magazines, 1740`s-early 1900`s)
 
Chicago Tribune (Historical) (full-text articles,1849-1990)
Pennsylvania Gazette (full-text articles, 1728-1800)
 
Article Databases for History

Journal and magazine articles on United States History may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password. Link to the History databases here.

The leading History database for United States history is:

America: History and Life (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, United States History, Pre-Colonial Era to Present) 

Other databases useful for research for United States history to 1877 are:

Academic Search Complete (full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

JSTOR (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Project Muse (peer reviewed articles, full-text articles, broad subject coverage including History)

Historical Abstracts  (peer reviewed articles, some full-text articles, world history)

Subject Specialist
Picture: David Bell

David Bell
Reference Librarian
dsbell@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7547


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Recommended books
One way to get a feel for the social mores and consumer trends of an era is to look at magazine ads.  The All-American Ads series provides a look at magazine ads from decades of the 20th century. These are available in the reference room, 3000 level north.
 
Image result for 1900-1919 : all-American ads  1900-1919: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A11 2005x
 
Book Cover 20s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A12 2004x
Image result for 1930: all-American ads 30s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A125 2003x
Image result for 40s: all-American ads 40s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A128 2001x
Image result for 50s: all-American ads 50s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A132 2001x
Image result for 60s: all-American ads 60s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A135 2002x
Image result for 70s: all-American ads 70s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A139 2004x
Book Cover 80s: All-American Ads 

Call number:
NC998.5.A1 A142 2005x