Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Art & Design

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=art&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Reference E-Sources
Oxford Art Online
 • ​encyclopedic resource with subject entries, biographies, images, bibliographies
 • access to Grove Art Online as well as The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art
 
Journal Articles
Art Abstracts
 • bibliographic citations and summaries for journal articles published back to 1984 (some full-text, some peer-reviewed)
 • cross-searchable with other EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International Complete

JSTOR and Project Muse
 • full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed

To find out which issues of a particular journal are available (in print or online) at Booth Library, search the Periodicals List by journal title.

Browse the list of Art, Architecture & Applied Arts e-journals.
 
Books, Videos, and More
EIU Online Catalog (Booth Library)

I-Share (other academic and research libraries in Illinois)

WorldCat (international database of library holdings)
 
Handbooks/Guides to Writing Critically on Art
Search the EIU Online Catalog for Art criticism--Authorship or browse the shelves at N7476.
 
Image Sources
For help with finding images, consult the Booth Library guide to Image Searching.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Beyond searching by keyword (using natural language, i.e., how people speak), subject terms can be helpful in discovering additional resources. Examples:

LOOKING FOR (KEYWORDS)    TRY (SUBJECT HEADINGS)
Digital art Computer art
Graphic design Commercial art
Graphic arts
Typography Graphic design (Typography)
Type and type-founding
Library of Congress Classification
LCC organizes art by medium, then by period or region. Individual artists are classed under country (of origin), then alphabetically by name. The call numbers for many art resources begin with:
 
N visual art (general)
NA architecture
NB sculpture
NC drawing / illustration / graphic arts
ND painting
NE printmaking
NK decorative arts
NX "The Arts" (inter/multidisciplinary)

Most art books are located on the 4000 Level. (view floor plan with call numbers)
Books taller than 36 inches are usually located in the Oversize collection (2000 Level, South).

Bound volumes of print journals are located in the Periodicals movable shelving section (1000 Level, South).
Ask for current issues at the Circulation Desk (3000 Level, South).
_______________________________________________

Related areas of interest:
PN6700-PN6790 comics/graphic novels
TR photography
TT handicraft
Z246-Z250 typography

Note on location:
 • Most comics/graphic novels are shelved in the GraFX collection (1000 Level, Atrium). Books about comics/graphic novels can be found in the circulating stacks (1000 Level, North).
 • The other above listed call number ranges are on 1000 Level, South.
Need more help? For further assistance ...
Contact the subject specialist librarian for Art & Design:
  Ellen Corrigan
  Associate Professor of Library Services
  ekcorrigan -at- eiu.edu

Ask a Reference Librarian