Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

BGS: Bachelor of General Studies, Library Research Tutorials

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=bgslib&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Welcome!
Booth Library has a large collection of information resources to support your research as you work toward your Bachelor of Arts in General Studies. These materials include online full-text databases, electronic journals, the reference collection (print and electronic), and the main book holdings. Journal articles and books from other libraries may be obtained using the library’s interlibrary loan (ILL) service.

These video tutorials are intended to help you use the library collection and services for your research, including locating sources (books, articles, and online encyclopedia entries) and obtaining research assistance from the librarians. Fo immediate help, use our 24/7 chat service, call 217-581-6072, or email
Booth banner
Library Basics

The videos below offer an introduction to Booth Library as well as instruction on how to access services and materials. Please review these items to better understand the basics of our library services.
Included here are:

 

  • 1. Introduction to the library for online students
  • 2. How to access library resources from off-campus
  • 3. How to find books
  • 4. How to find and access e-books
  • 5. How to have books delivered
  • 6. How to use I-Share
  • 7. How to use Interlibrary loan
  • 8. How to get help
 
 
 
 
 
Searching Databases
Booth library provides access to many different databases containing high-quality scholarly research for your use. Most of the research is accessible in full-text (the whole article) as either HTML or PDF format. Two multidisciplinary databases that are used across many humanities and social-science disciplines are Project Muse and JSTOR. Below you will find links to tutorial videos on beginning research in these resources.
 
Google Scholar settings for EIU journals
Lean how to set up Google Scholar's "library links" so you can always access EIU's journal subscriptions on or off campus.
Citation Guides
Always cite your sources! The style you use depends on what your professor requires. Many humanities disciplines use the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. Many social sciences disciplines use APA (American Psychological Association) style. There are many styles of citation available for publications. Below you will find links to guides for a variety of citation styles.

A Citation Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style (CMoS) developed by the EIU History faculty : Part 1 - NotesPart 2 - Bibliography

Chicago Manual of Style  : The CMoS website
Citation Styles : A List of style guides (APA, MLA, ASA, CMoS, CSE) available at Booth Library
Common research tasks and strategies