Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Career Assignment

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=career&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Employer Profile
Research help for a careers writing assignment

In an employer profile assignment you are asked to identify an organization that might employ you in your field of study. The resources below provide information on businesses and organizations as well as links to the companies' public websites and annual reports.

screensnipMarketLine Company Reports
Marketline reports are inside a database called Business Source Elite. It is a collection of company profiles. To browse or search them follow the link to "Company Profiles" from the top blue navigation bar. These contain detailed information on the business including personnel, financial data, company history and company overview. For an example see the report for Toys'R'Us



Mergent FIS
Conains information on US companies, International companies, and annual reports




 Plunkett Research Online
Contains business and industry data, Market research and trends, and company profiles​

More Plunkett resources:
These are electronic books that can help you identify an organization that you might want to research.
Plunkett's e-commerce & Internet business almanac 
Plunkett's entertainment & media industry almanac 
Plunkett's games, apps & social media industry almanac 
Plunkett's retail industry almanac 








Print Resources
These print resources are in the reference section of Booth library.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries - Reference Room 3000 Level North, call number HD2324 .E527
International Directory of Company Histories - Reference Room 3000 Level North, call number HD2721 .I63
Almanac of American Employers - Reference Room 3000 Level North, call number HF5832.75 U6 A45
Public Persuasion
Before you begin your in-depth research consult a reference resource for basic information to help you learn about your topic.
Listed below are links to some suggested reference tools that will help you identify important people, events, legislation, terminology, and related issues which will, in turn, inform your ongoing research. 


logo imageThis large series of books contains summaries of contemporary controversial issues being discussed and legislated in the U.S. Congress. It is a paper resource and is located in the reference stacks under the call number H35 .E351x.
The library has volumes from 1991 to the present. The most recent year is kept behind the reference desk where you have to ask for it.
Each volume contains a cumulative index. This means that if you look in the index to 2013, you'll find entries referring you all the way back to 1991. It is updated monthly.




Issues and Controversies on File
The Issues and Controversies database provides analyses and explanations of opposing points of view for more than 800 topics. The articles include chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and more.












   book cover image  book cover image ​​Opposing Viewpoints Series
This is a series of over 160 books in Booth Library’s collection. Each book focuses on a different topic, discusses it in depth, and provides information on both the pro and con aspects. To find them, do a Keyword search in the EIU Online Catalog with the terms “opposing viewpoints series” in quotes.






Contemporary World Issues 
Series of over 130 books on major controversial issues. These are subtitled "a reference handbook" and provide many excellent references to additional reports and research on the topic. 


Several publishers offer book series that address controversial issues and provide access to pro and con arguments.  Click on a link below to see a list of titles in each series available at Booth Library.

At Issue (Greenhaven Press)
Historical Guides to Controversial Issues in America
Point/Counterpoint
Reference Shelf

Additional online reference tools:
These are searchable collections of electronic reference books, excellent for learning more about your topic and identifying additional references.

Gale Virtual Reference Collection
Electronic reference books across all topics

Reference Books on EBSCOHost 
Search the EBSCO interface for entries in electronic encyclopedias. 


Springer eBooks: Reference Works  
Over 400 reference books on aspects of Science Technology and Medicine

Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection 
Selected SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. 

A List of links to all the electronic reference tools
Additional electronic reference tools
Library Research tools

website screenshot The Library website is your portal to information of all kinds, in many different forms such as books, DVDs, encylopedia entries, newspapers or journal articles.

You need to understand which search tools to use in order to find and access these different forms of information.

You also need to understand the best strategies to get quick and efficient access to the information.

Librarians can help you do that. 
Catalog
The Library Catalog
Let's talk about finding books. The search tool we use to find out what print books the library owns and where they are shelved is called the library catalog. There is only one EIU Library catalog.

When you enter terms to search in the the catalog, what is returned to you is a list of book titles and the information on how to find the book. One part of the description is called a call number. The alphanumeric (containing letters and numbers) call number tells you in what order the book is shelved in the library. The location tells you in what part of the building the call number section can be found.
EIU Online Catalog Search
Results will display in a new window
Article databases
You will also want to search for newspaper, magazine and journal articles.To find these sources we use a different search tool, an online resource called an article database. There are many article databases. The librarians have organized all the article databases that are available to us into different subject areas. A good general place to begin is the "Articles" tab search box on the library home page
General Article Search
 
Results will display in a new window