Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Career Evaluation, a guide to finding resources

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=career-evaluation&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Useful career websites
The Occupational Outlook Handbook, from the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, is an excellent source for information about many different occupations.

Mathematicians: Occupational Outlook Handbook

O*NET OnLine, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment & Training Administration, offers a variety of options for your career search.  One highlight of O*NET is the detailed breakdowns for each career field.  Within the Hospitality and Tourism cluster, for example, you'll find over 100 distinct occupations listed, from lodging managers to baristas to recreation workers.  Each occupation will provide a detailed analysis of tasks, skills, abilities, work styles and values, and much more.  Within O*NET, you'll find a section called My Next Move with an interest profiler that "helps you find what your interests are and how they relate to the world of work."
Finding books
Booth Library has a number of books on careers for you to consult.  Search the online catalog using terms such as these (substitute the name of the career you're looking for):

special education careers
journalist careers
librarian vocational guidance
archaeologist vocational guidance
(etc.)

Librarians vocational guidance - online catalog search

Browse the Reference stacks (3rd floor, near the reference lab) around HF 5380 to find more career guides.  In addition, you can find the 15th edition (2011) of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance online via EBSCOhost.
Finding articles
The basic search box on the library's home page will help you find articles on careers in a particular field.  Type (your career name) and careers to start.  For example:

Articles on nursing careers
This will search a collection of useful article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite, Health Source Nursing/Academic, and more.  Some articles will be fairly generally focused, while others will be quite specialized and will be based on research studies conducted with people working in a particular field.  These can provide you with in-depth insight into career satisfaction, working conditions, and so forth.

Other searches to try for more detailed information:

(your career) and career satisfaction
(your career) and wages
(your career) and career path
Vault - from EIU Career Services
EIU's Career Services provides a resource called Vault Campus Edition that provides company profiles, career guidebooks, an internship database and job board, sample resumes, and more.  See the link above for directions on how to log in to Vault.
find this page
You can make your way back to this page by typing this url into the browser address bar: booth.eiu.edu/careerhelp