Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

CMN 1310 Introduction to Speech Communication

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=cmn1310&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Library research assignment
Instructions:
 
Using each of the library resources listed below, online encyclopedias, the library catalog, and article databases, identify several credible sources of information for your informative speeches. By the end of the period you will narrow your selections down to the best three.
 
screenshot image
 
1.     Find reference materials like encyclopedia entries on your topic by searching the “Gale Virtual Reference Library” (GVRL). Find GVRL by clicking on the “Reference Resources” link under the articles search box. Printing is free from reference lab computers.
 
As you scan through your search results, what new terms do you see that might help you with the other library search tools? Are there people, events or concepts that expand your knowledge? Write them down for use in the next steps.
 




















2.     Find books on your topic by searching the library catalog. Click on the “Books & Movies tab” from the library home page.







When you find a book you want, note the call number and location of the book listed in your search results, then go to the floor where those call numbers are shelved. Ask the reference librarian for help if you don’t know where to go.

What is the call number for the book below? What is the location? Is it available?


‚Äč


What about this book?

book call number image












 



Tip: your first library catalog search will always search what is at EIU.  Select "All I-Share Libraries" to retrieve books from 85+ libraries across Illinois. 
















3. Find magazine, newspaper or journal articles by searching article databases. Enter your search terms into the Articles search box on the library home page. The default articles search searches the 7 databases listed below.
screengrab image

If your search doesn’t produce high quality or relevant results, think about different ways to express the idea and try different terms. Your instructor or a librarian can be helpful with this.
 






Once you have several sources, show them to your instructor for feedback and approval. 

 



Which databases should I search?

More than any other method of communication, researchers use the scholarly journal article to communicate with each other. It is how they report their research to other scholars in the field. You can search for research in journal articles by using article databases appropriate to communications research licensed by Booth library. Although you can find research articles on free search engines, it is harder to figure out what you are looking at and often you'll be faced with a pay wall when you finally drill down to the article. Library databases provide the articles free of charge, and if the full article is not immediately available, you can often rtieve it or request it (again, free! ) within a few clicks. 

The databases most appropriate for Communications research are Communications and Mass Media Complete, and Academic Search Complete, both databases are provided by EBSCO interface. For a longer list of databases that are related to communication studies, follow the links to the research by subject on the library home page and select Communications. If your research is intended to be informative or persuasive on any topic not necessarily related to communication studies, choose Academic Search Complete, and review the research guide for issues and controversies

screenshot of communication appropriate resources