Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Communication Disorders & Sciences

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=commdis&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Browsing the Bookstacks
The Library of Congress Classification System arranges books by Subject, so browsing the shelves in Reference (3000 Level, Booth Library) or in the Bookstacks (1000 Level, Booth Library) in these call number areas will introduce you to the collection in Communication Disorders & Sciences.  The collection is somewhat scattered due to the many specific types of speech disorders and therapies.  Use the Online Catalog to locate titles on specific subjects, for example: "Motor Speech Disorders.”

 
Communicative disorders  RC423-RC428.8
Hearing disorders   RF290-310
Language disorders   RC423-RC428.5
Speech disorders  RC423-RC428.5
Cluttering  RC424.5  
Articulation disorders  RC424.7
Aphasia   RC425-RC425.7
Stuttering  RC424
Voice disorders  RF510-RF540
Autism  RJ506.A9
FINDING BOOKS
Online Catalog Quick Search
Online Catalog Search Tips
Using the "Books & Movies" tab, on the Booth Library Homepage, enter your search terms

You might wish to change the Relevancy Ranking to Newest First




Once you get your results, you can limit your results further by using the options on the right-hand side.  Topic limits can be very useful.

FINDING ARTICLES
Article Quick Search
EBSCO CDS Quick Search
Search for Articles in Selected EBSCO databases
Limit Your Results
PubMed Quick Search
Search for Articles in MEDLINE via PubMed

Advanced Article Searching
Choosing Databases
Go to the library's home page at http://www.library.eiu.edu.  Go to the Resources by Subject tab and choose Communication Disorders & Sciences




Choose a Database like these from the list of Databases:

EBSCO Databases Selected for Communication Disorders & Sciences Research
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
ERIC/EBSCO
Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals

For specific information on finding articles to support research in Communication Disorders & Sciences, visit:

Finding CDS Articles
Describes special search link to make finding CDS articles easier

How to Find Articles Based on Experimental Research/CDS
How to find research articles for Communication Disorders & Sciences
Other Helpful Resources
To access these resources select:
  • Research by Subject
  • Communication Disorders & Sciences

Databases Tab
--JSTOR
--SpringerLink
--PubMed

Ebooks Tab
--R2 Speech Therapy
--R2 Otorhinolaryngology
--
Springer eBooks: Communication Disorders

Reference Tab
--Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
You can get books from other libraries.  Here's how:

--From the library homepage, select the "Books and Movies" tab above the main search bar.

--Click on the "I-Share" link underneath the main search bar

--Conduct your search as usual

--When you find a book you want, click on its title to bring up the full record.  Click on the "Request 1st Available" tab and follow the on-screen instructions to have it delivered to the Booth Library circulation desk.

If you are a first time user, you will have to create an I-Share account using your library ID number (located on the lower right hand corner of your Student ID)
Get Full Text Articles

When looking up articles in an EBSCO database, clicking on the "Get Full Text" icon will take you to the full text of the article, help you find a print version of the article in the library catalog or give you the option to request the article from another library if Booth doesn't have access to the article (this request is also called InterLibrary Loan or ILL).

For more information, visit this page about "Get Full Text" and see examples of how it works.
If you have questions, please contact Interlibrary Loan at 217-581-6074 or Circulation Services at 217-581-6071.
Save it For Later
All EBSCO databases allow you to save your search history to return to later.  Also, you can create email alerts when new articles on your topic appear.  You may also save articles to a folder.

Click on Sign In and create an account to use these features.  Sign In every time you want to use these funcrions or add more articles to a folder.
Don't Give Up!
Remember: Don't give up with just one search attempt!  Be creative with your search terms.  Use synonyms or search more broadly.  Many times you'll find book that deal with a broad topic of which your subject is a subdivision.  In that case, you'll need to look at the books' chapter headings and index for your specific topic.
Subject Specialist
Karen Whisler
Communication Disorders Librarian
klwhisler@eiu.edu
271-581-7551

Reference Desk 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk