Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Counseling

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=counseling&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Subject Specialist

Michele McDaniel
Ballenger Teacher Center (BTC) Coordinator
Subject Specialist for Education, Counseling, and Student Development
BTC Phone: 217-581-8442
Office Phone (voicemail): 217-581-6099
Email: mkmcdaniel@eiu.edu
 
Library Basics - Video Tutorials

The videos below offer an introduction to Booth Library as well as instruction on how to access services and materials. Please review these items to better understand the basics of our library services.
Included here are:

 

  • 1. Introduction to the library for online students
  • 2. How to access library resources from off-campus
  • 3. How to find books
  • 4. How to find and access e-books
  • 5. How to have books delivered
  • 6. How to use I-Share
  • 7. How to use Interlibrary loan
  • 8. How to get help
 
 
 
 
 
Finding Articles for Research
You can use this search widget to begin your search for articles related to counseling topics. If you want to eliminate results related to education or the elderly, you can uncheck the box for ERIC and/or Abstracts in Social Gerontology.

Databases for Counseling Research
Finding Books
 
You can limit your search to electronic resources on the Advanced Search screen. [view screenshot]

Alternatively, you can narrow the list of retrieved items by Format on the search results page. [view screenshot]
​I-Share Catalog Search  
If the book you want is not available at EIU or through I-Share, try searching WorldCat (international database of library holdings) or submit an Interlibrary Loan Book Request.
In addition to searching for your topic by keyword, subject headings may be useful in identifying relevant sources of information.
Finding E-Books
Booth Library offers e-books on two major platforms: SpringerLink and EBSCOhost.

You can search for books inside each database using the search box below. First, select either Spring or EBSCO. Then conduct your search. For tips on navigating either e-book platform please see below.
 
 EBSCO
Navigating the SpringerLink E-Book Platform

Books in SpringerLink are available to multiple users simultaneously. You can download single chapters or complete books.

To access e-books in SpringerLink:


1. Select the Springer button
2. Type in your search term (counseling, for example)
3. Click Go.
4. Narrow results. In SpringerLink, you can narrow your results using the Discipline or Subdiscipline facets on the left side of your search results.
SpringerLink Facets
5. If you don't see the discipline that interests you. Click on See All. You can then browse all the Disciplines or Subdisciplines.
Subdisciplines
Navigating the EBSCO E-Book Platform
Search EBSCO e-books
E-Books in EBSCO are typically only available for one patron to view at a time. Sometimes we do offer titles for three simultaneous users.

To access e-books in EBSCO:

1. Select EBSCO.
2. Type in your search term (for example: counseling)
3. Click Go.
4. Narrow results. Like in SpringerLink, you can narrow your results using the facets on the left. In EBSCO, you can limit your results by Subject.
EBSCO Subject Facet
5. If you don't see a Subject of interest, click on Show More.
See More - Subject
6. To access a book, click on the title. You can then click on either the PDF or ePub full text to browse online. Or, you can download. Look where it says concurrent user level to see how many simultaneous users the books can support.
How to read
Print Reference Resources - Introduction
Reference Reading Room

We have a number of rich print and electronic reference resources for counseling. The print reference collection is on the north end of main level (3000) of the library. These books are not available to check out, but they can provide excellent background information on a variety of topics in the discipline. Here is a sampling:
 
  • Apa Handbook Of Counseling Psychology
  • BF636.6 .A63 2012
  • summary | details
  • Counseling Dictionary: Concise Definitions Of Frequently Used Terms
  • Gladding, Samuel T.
  • BF637.C6 G5332 2006
  • summary | details
  • Encyclopedia Of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination, State Counseling Exams, and the Counselor Preparation
  • Rosenthal, Howard, 1952-
  • BF636.6 .R67 2008
  • summary | details
  •  
  • Graduate Study in Psychology (2017).  A guide to applying to doctoral programs.
  • BF77 .G73 
  • summary | details
Searching for Print Reference
To search for additional reference resources related to counseling, follow these steps: 

1. Go the Booth Library Catalog.

2. Type Counseling into the search bar and click the find button.
Counseling Search

3. In the facets on the righthand side of the page, under Location, click More and  select Reference. 

Location - More 
Location - Reference
  4. You can then browse the results.
Electronic Reference Resources
We have a variety electronic reference resources available through Gale Virtual Reference Library that are great for background research on a variety of topics within the counseling discipline. These are particularly appealing because they are searchable. You can see a breakdown of counseling topics in the image below. If you are interested in introductory articles to any of the topics in the image follow these steps.

​1. Click on the image below: 

2. You will need to type Counseling into the search bar. 
 Topic finder search
3. Select your topic of interest. Article titles will display in the box to the right.

Choose a topic and view results
Streaming Video
We have two sources of streaming video in the counseling discipline: Kanopy Streaming Video and Counseling and Therapy in Video Collections I and II. 

Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy has an extensive selection of videos videos related to the discipline of counseling. They cover topics from the Socratic Questioning to Post Traumatic Stress Disorder to Grief and Loss. You can stream them from anywhere.

To browse the full list, click on the picture below to view the collection. Once you are in Kanopy, you can also perform a more specific search:
kanopy logo

Counseling and Therapy in Video I and II
From Alexander Street Press: "Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens."

Click on the picture below to look at the video collection.
Alexander Street Press: Counseling and Therapy in Video