Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Criminal Justice

D2L embed


Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of Criminal Justice. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection, government documents, and the online full-text databases. In addition, Booth Library provides access to resources held at other facilities using the computer labs in the Reference Room and on the 4000 Level. Materials from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.

This is a subject guide to selected works on Criminal Justice and related resources held by Booth Library. The citations on this list represent only a small portion of the available Criminal Justice literature owned by the library. Further materials can be found by searching the Online Catalog and one of our many databases.
E-Reference and Subject Encyclopedias
Booth Library E-reference resources are like online collections of subject encyclopedias, and are good places to begin research in Criminal Justice. One example is the Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection

Booth Library also provides access to numerous other e-reference titles via the Gale Virtual Reference Library like the ones below:

Crime and punishment in America : an encyclopedia of trends and controversies in the justice system

Latinos and criminal justice : an encyclopedia 

Gambling in America : an encyclopedia of history, issues, and society

Encyclopedia of white-collar and corporate crime

Violence against girls and women : international perspectives

Encyclopedia of street crime in America

Subject Encyclopedias

Print subject encyclopedias are great starting points as well, and available in the Reference stacks for just about every subject area, including Criminal Justice. They are easy to discover using "encyclopedias" and "crime" (or a similar term) in the subject field in the Booth Library catalog. Here are two examples:

Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence
HV6250.4.S78 E53 2011

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime
HV6768.E63 2005
Selected Journals


Corrections Today.................................Academic Search Complete

Criminal Justice Ethics...........................Academic Search Complete
The Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology.........Academic Search Complete and JSTOR

Finding Books
To find Criminal Justice Materials in the Booth Library catalog, try the following Library of Congress subject headings (also known as "Topics" in the library catalog and some databases):
Criminal Justice   
Drug Traffic       
Forensic Medicine  
Juvenile Delinquents
Juvenile Deliquency
Law Enforcement
Victims of crimes


Crime Statistics
Crime in Illinois
Crime offenses include the categories of criminal homicide, rape, robbery, aggravated battery/aggravated assault, burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft, arson, and human trafficking commercial sex acts and human trafficking involuntary servitude.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
United States Government Information and statistics on crime, capital punishment, prisons, and domestic violence

Uniform Crime Reporting
The starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.
Other resources...
There are also many social science focused resources that can assist you with research in Criminal Justice. Try these other Booth Library databases:
  • Social Sciences Abstracts
  • Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
  • Historical Statistics of the United States

The Department of Sociology and Anthropology is also an important resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Steve Brantley

Steve Brantley
Head of Reference Services
Office: 217 581-6072

Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
Office: 217 581-8457

Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk