Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Civil War Primary Sources

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=cwprimarysources&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Civil War Primary Sources
Listed below are online Civil War collections hosted by other institutions.  These collections can be used to find primary sources about the Civil War.  Also check out Booth Library's Primary and Secondary Sources Library Guide for a review of primary sources and how to find primary sources using the EIU Library Catalog.
Newspapers
Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955)
Important daily newspaper that covered national as well as regional news.

Chronicling America
Access to multiple newspapers from both the Confederate and Union states.

Harper's Weekly
A popular weekly newspaper, this archive features issues from the Civil War years (1861-1865).

Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
Newspaper published from the Confederate capital with 1,384 issues.

Secession-Era Editorials
Contains transcribed editorials from contemporary newspapers about the Nebraska Bill debates, the attack on Senator Charles Sumner, John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry and the Dred Scott decision.
Maps & Photographs
Civil War Glass Negatives and Related Prints
7,000 battleground images and portraits created during the Civil War and its immediate aftermath.

Civil War Maps
Approximately 3,000 maps compiled from three different collections.

Pictures of the Civil War
Civil War photographs organized into broad categories by The National Archives.
Diaries & Letters
Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
20,000 documents pertaining to the general correspondence of Abraham Lincoln.

The Civil War Collection at Michigan State University
A research guide accessible from the homepage details the letters, papers, newspapers, and records available in this collection.

The Civil War Collection at Penn State
Diaries, newspapers, and other Civil War content.

Civil War Diaries and Letters
Items organized into categories and by year.

Civil War Diaries and Letters Collections
Civil War letters and diaries transcribed.

Civil War on the Western Border
A collaboration of Kansas City libraries, this site offers scanned images of Civil War documents that are also transcribed.

The Civil War: Women and the Homefront
Digitized diaries of women during the Civil War, as well as outside links to other Civil War collections focusing on women.

Manuscripts of the American Civil War
Features diaries of soldiers from both the north and the south.

South Carolina and the Civil War
Scanned collection of a variety of Civil War documents.

Valley of the Shadow
Focuses on documents originating from a northern town in Pennsylvania and a southern town in Virginia.

Wisconsin Goes to War
More than 2,600 pages of journals, diaries, and papers from Wisconsin Civil War soldiers.
Dispatches & Battles
Antietam on the Web
Site chronicling the Battle of Sharpsburg (Antietam) with battle maps, soldier diaries and letters, and officer report transcriptions.

Making of America: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies
Scanned pages from a 30-volume set concerning the orders, reports, and correspondence of the Union and Confederate navies.

Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library
Contains the first 31-volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, as well as photographs and prints from the life of Grant.

The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Scanned 70-volume work concerning formal reports, correspondence, and orders of the Union and Confederate armies.
Slavery & Abolitionism
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Contains more than 2,300 first-person narratives of slavery and 500 photographs.

Frederick Douglas Papers
Digitized papers of Frederick Douglas that can be browsed by date and type of document.

North American Slave Narratives
Narratives of fugitive and former slaves in published form before 1920.

Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800s
24,000 pages of personal accounts, speeches, legal proceedings and pamphlets that reflect both sides of the issue of slavery.

Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860
Collection of more than 100 pamphlets and books published between 1772 and 1889 that focus on trials, cases, arguments, and proceedings about slavery.