Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Economics

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=econ&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Books
Browsing the stacks for economics books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number.  Below is a list of the call number ranges for subjects within the Economics field.  Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books in the stacks are found on the 3rd floor south (main level), and these books can be borrowed with your Panther Card.  You can also find Economics reference books in the reference area, 3rd floor north, next to the reference computer lab.

HA - Statistics
HB - Economic Theory, Demography, Business Cycles
HC 94-1085 - Economic History & Conditions, By Region or Country
HD 28-88 - Production
HD 101-1395.5 - Land Use
HD 2321-4730 - Industry
HD 4801-8942 - Labor
HD 9000-9999 - Special Industries and Trades
HE - Transportation and Communication
HF- Commerce (General)
HG 201-1496 - Money
HG 1501-3550 - Banking
HG 4051-6052 - Stocks, Investment
HJ - Public Finance, Taxation
HT - Cities, Regional Economics, Urban Planning
Searching the EIU Online Catalog
Choose the EIU Online Catalog to find books in the library, and in the search box, type in keywords describing what you'd like to find.  You'll find the best results using simple words or phrases, such as "economics india" (screenshot below) to locate books on economics in India.  Click on each title to find more information about the item.  The catalog will also find information on videos, ebooks, government publications, and more.

Finding Articles
Economics article databases
Booth Library offers several databases useful for finding articles in economics. All databases are accessible from off campus as well; just log in with your EIU netID and password.  Think about your topic in terms of keywords, which can either be connected by AND/OR/NOT on the same line, or separated on different lines.

If full text isn't linked, click on the Get Full Text link to see whether your article is available online or in print through another Booth Library source.

EconLit  - citations and abstracts of articles, collective volumes, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics, with links to some full-text.  This should be your main starting point when searching for articles in economics.

Business Source Elite - full text articles from 1000+ journals, plus abstracts from many others, all on business and management topics.

Lexis-Nexis - complete articles on a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic.

Academic Search Complete - full articles and abstracts from articles covering a wide range of academic topics, including economics.

EconLit search results
Other Economics reference sources
Reference Books and Websites
General reference sources:

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia - available online at EBSCO eBooks.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - REF HB61 .N49 2008.  Eight volumes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History - REF HC15 .O94 2003.  Five volumes.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy - REF HF1373 .P75 2009.  Two volumes.


Selected biographical sources on economists:

Who’s Who in Economics - REF HB76.W471986
Lives of the Laureates - REF HB76 .L58 2009
Nobel Laureates in Economics - REF HB76.N631989
A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists - REF HB76.B35 2000
Economic Thought Since Keynes: A History and Dictionary of Major Economists - REF HB87 .B4313 1997
Fifty Major Economists - REF HB 76 .P74 2006
All Prizes in Economic Sciences, from NobelPrize.org

Websites:

Resources for Economists on the Internet - a meta-index to Economics websites, hosted at the American Economics Association.
EconPapers - a large collection of working papers in Economics.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Sarah Johnson

Sarah Johnson
Reference Librarian
sljohnson2@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7538


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Locating Economic Data
Reference materials for domestic (US) data
Print:

Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change - REF HC 101 .A13122 2006.  Published every two years.
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns - REF HA203 .A635
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State - REF HA203 .S734

Online:

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) offers the latest statistics on domestic production, employment, prices, and more.

The US Census Bureau's Economic Statistics are tabulated every five years, most recently in 2012. (Data from 2012 will be available starting March 2014.)

The Economic Report of the President, published annually, surveys the nation's economic progress. Older issues are in the stacks, call number HC106.5 .A272.

US Economy at a Glance, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED), from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, lets you view and download US and international time series from 77 sources.
Reference materials for international data
Reference materials with country-specific economic data include the following.  Reference books can be found on the main level (3rd floor) near the reference lab.

Print:

World Economic and Social Survey, from the UN's Development Policy & Analysis Division - REF HC59 .A1691x.  Also available online, 1948-present.
World Economic Situation and Prospects, also from the UN - REF HC 59.15 .W67X.  Also available online, 1999 to date.
World Development Report - REF HC59.7 .W659.  Also available online, 1998 to date.
The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective - REF HC 21 .M287 2003X
The World Economy: Historical Statistics - REF HC 21 .M285 2001
World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency) - REF G122 .U56a.  Also available online.
Economies of the World - REF HB 61 .E275 2005X
African Development Report - REF HC 800 .A1 A354.  Also available online.
Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific - REF HC 411 .U48 2009
Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices - for historical data; Book Stacks HC59 .C7351x (through 2002).  Also available online.
Also, consult country-specific statistical handbooks and yearbooks - REF HA 74 to HA 4675


Online:

The OECD Economic Surveys are online at OECD iLibrary from 1961 to date.  Older materials can be found at REF HC 14 - HC 662.  Member countries are surveyed every 18 months; non-member countries are surveyed in agreement with the country.  For a list of the OECD member countries, see the OECD website at http://www.oecd.org.

National Accounts of OECD Countries, also from OECD, are online from 2011 forward; older materials are in Reference at REF HC79 .I5 N533x.  This annual publication offers stats related to GDP, disposable income, saving and net lending, population and employment for 34 OECD countries and the Euro area.

The OECD Economic Outlook, published twice yearly, analyzes the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years for OECD member countries and selected non-member countries.

International Economic Trends, from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, provides economic indicators and forecasts for 13 countries plus the Euro Area.
Searchable databases for international data
The World Databank, available freely online from the World Bank (and linked from the library's list of economics databases), contains over 50 databases with indicators and statistics on world development, gender, education, health, poverty, and international debt, among others.  Two of the best known sources are World Development Indicators and International Debt Statistics (formerly Global Development Finance).  Data can be filtered by country, topic, and timeframe, and viewed online or exported into Excel.

World DataBank

International Financial Statistics (IFS), a free database from the International Monetary Fund, provides data on international and domestic finance. It contains time series data from 1948. IFS reports, for most countries, current data on international payments, inflation, and deflation (exchange rates, liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts).  The annual IFS Yearbook, available in print, is shelved at HG61 .I57; latest issue in Reference.

After choosing IFS from the list, click Query to generate a table with data by country, year, and indicator.  If you plan to save or download your results, please sign in first, or create a free account if this is your first time logging in.

International Financial Statistics