Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HIS 2500 Historical Research and Writing (Elder)

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=his2500&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Resources
Guide to library resources for research in HIS 2500 with Dr. Elder

Reference works relevant to research on German National Socialism

The following books are available in the Booth Library shelved by their call number. Ref. at the beginning of the call number indicates that the book is in the Reference Room.  The call number links take you to the catalog record from which you can review tables of contents or search for additional materials on similar themes.

book cover

Adolf Hitler: A Biographical Companion
Ref. DD 247 .H5 N53 2000


Atlas of NAZI Germany: a political, economic and social anatomy of the Third Reich
Ref. DD 256.5 .F73354 1995



book coverDictionary of the Holocaust: biography, geography and terminology
Ref. D 804.25 .E67 1997

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos
Ref. D 805 .A2 U55 2009

Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the NAZI Movement
Ref. DD 256.5 .L51313 1997

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Ref. D 804.3 .E53 1990

Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Ref. DD 256.5 .G76313 1991

book coverEncyclopedia of World War II: A political, social and military history
Volume  5 contains reprints of documents like the Nuremberg Laws, the Wannsee Protocol and
excerpts from speeches, diaries, etc. arranged by year.
Ref. D 740 .E516 2004

Holocaust Chronicle
Ref. D 804.25 .H654x 2007




Jewish Responses to Persecution

DS 134.255 .M38 2010



Terminology of the Third Reich
Ref. DD 256.5 .W5x




book coverThird Reich sourcebook
Ref. DD256.5 .T5245 2013

 

Women under the Third Reich : a biographical dictionary
Ref. HQ1623 .C65 1998






The links below take you to curated lists of electronic encyclopedia articles from the Gale Virtual Reference Collection

Search results for term "nazi" (600+ results)

Search results for "national socialism" (86 biographical Entries, 30 'Topic overviews')  
JSTOR and Historical Abstracts
Journal articles and other resources

Quick links to JSTOR and Historical Abstracts

Booth librarians have curated lists of links to recommended History resources from all regions and periods. You may select from a list of databases, ebook collections, reference resources, additional research guides (like this one) or free and open Web resources.

For film research, try searching the World History in Video Collection of streaming documentaries for keywords related to your topic for primary and secondary documentary videos. As an example, the results for keywords Germany and "national Socialism" return 24 films, such as The Top Secret Trial of the Third Reich, and The Night of Broken Glass: The November 1938 Pogroms