Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
Eastern Illinois University Logo

History MA - Library Tutorials

D2L embed


Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Booth Library has a large collection of information resources to support the research completed by the Online MA History students. These materials include online full-text databases, electronic journals, the reference collection (print and electronic), and the main book holdings. Journals articles and books from other libraries may be obtained using the library’s interlibrary loan (ILL) service.

These video tutorials are intended to help you use the library collection and services for your research, including locating sources (books, articles, primary sources) and obtaining reference assistance from the librarians.
Booth banner
Library Basics

The videos below offer an introduction to Booth Library as well as instruction on how to access services and materials. Please review these items to better understand the basics of our library services.

History Specific Databases
You have access to subject-specific databases through Booth Library. Two of the most commonly used in the History field are America: History & Life (content focused on North America) and Historical Abstracts (Content more focused on World History). Clicking on either database title will take you to a list of subject-specific research databases you might find useful. Below are tutorials on how to best use the two primary databases.

Searching Databases
Booth library provides access to many databases containing relevant research material for your use. Most material is accessible online in full text or PDF format once you log in to your library account. Two broad databases commonly used in humanities research are Project Muse and JSTOR. Below you will find links to tutorial videos on how to best utilize these resources. 

Finding Primary Sources

Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, and other contemporary accounts. Booth librarians have created a more detailed guide to finding and using primary sources. Use this tutorial for a quick introduction to finding primary research material.

Searching Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
Citation Guides
There are many styles of citation available for publications. The History department at EIU has developed a citation guide based on The Chicago Manual of Style (also known as Turabian style). You will, of course, need to confirm with your professor as to which style you will apply to your research.

EIU History Department Citation Guidelines

Chicago Manual of Style (CMoS) website
Andy Cougill Reference Librarian
Andy Cougill
Librarian for History, Reference Librarian
(217) 581-6072 (24 hour reference service)