Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HST 3000 :: Health Concepts for Teachers

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=hst3000&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Search for Articles
Search for Articles - Various EBSCO databases
Limit Your Results
Resources for Health Education
Health Education and Promotion
Illinois Standards and Guidelines
Illinois Learning Standards: Physical Development & Health
Sex Education Guidance Document

Ebooks
Health Promotion for Children and Adolescents
Teaching environmental health to children: An interdisciplinary approach

Books
Tools for teaching health: Interactive strategies... - RA564.5 .W46 2007 SHELVED IN BTC
Health Communication - Online Tools
CDC Clear Communication Index is a research-based tool to help you develop and assess public communication materials
CDCynergy Lite -  assists you in developing, implementing, and evaluating an effective social marketing plan
Chronic Disease Cost Calculator
Health Literacy Universal Precautions Toolkit
High School Health Textbooks
All textbooks are shelved in the Ballenger Teachers Center, 3000 Level
request book delivery

Essential health. Instructor's edition - RA440 .S26 2015x
Glencoe health - RA776 .B776 2011x
Health: Making life choices - RA776 .S6424 2010x
Health & wellness - RA440 .M448 2008x
School Health
Ebooks
Prevention Science in School Settings
Healthy teens, healthy schools: How media literacy education can renew education in the United States
Schools for Health and Sustainability

Books request book delivery
Encyclopedia of School Health - REF RA777 .E52 2013 LOCATED IN REFERENCE
Handbook of school violence and school safety: International research and practice - LB3013.3 .H346 2012
Schools and Public health: Past, Present, Future - LB3409.U5 G37 2014

Government Documents
SHI: School health index: A self-assessment and planning guide: Middle school/high school

Websites
Action for Healthy Kids - healthy eating, physical activity and healthier schools
Centers for Diease Control Healthy Schools
Healthy Schools Campaign -
healthy environments, nutrition, physical activity
Let's Move! - healthy food and physicay activity
School Health Issues - Illinois State Board of Education
Special Topics
Bullying
Ebooks
The Complete Guide to Understanding, Controlling, and Stopping Bullies...
Practical Strategies for Clinical Management of Bullying


Books request book delivery
Beyond bullying: Breaking the cycle of shame, bullying, and violence - BF575.S45 F27 2016
Understanding school bullying: Its nature & prevention strategies - LB3013.3 .S65 2014x
Youth suicide and bullying: Challenges and strategies for prevention and intervention - BF637.B85 Y68 2015
LGBTQ+
LTBTQ+  lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (and/or questioning). + includes Asexual, Aromantic, Non-binary or Genderqueer, Pansexual, and other sexual/gender minorities

Books

General
Becoming who I am: Young men on being gay - HQ76.27.Y68 S28 2016
In a Queer Voice - HQ76.27.Y68 S23 2013
Queer: The ultimate LGBT guide for teens - HQ76.27.Y68 B45 2011bx
That's so gay!: Microaggressions and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community - HQ73 .N24 2013
"You can tell just by looking": And 20 other myths about LGBT life and people - HQ75.5 .B7596 2013

LGBT+ in School
Dignity for all: Safeguarding LGBT students - LC192.6 .D48 2012 SHELVED IN BTC
LGBTQ youth and education: Policies and practices - LC192.6 .M39 2014
Safe is not enough : better schools for LGBTQ students - On order


Asexuality

The invisible orientation: An introduction to asexuality - HQ23 .D43 2014x

Gender Identity
Gender outlaws: The next generation - HQ77.9 .G39 2010
Nobody passes: Rejecting the rules of gender and conformity - HQ77.9 .N635 2006


Transgender
Beyond magenta: Transgender teens speak out - 306.76 K958be SHELVED IN BTC
Trans bodies, trans selves: A resource for the transgender community - HQ77.9 .T714 2014
Transgender 101: A simple guide to a complex issue - HQ77.9 .T45 2012
The Transgender Child - HQ77.9 .B75 2008


Online Video
Coming out trans
Transgender stories  
Mental Health and Neurodiversity
Neurodiversity n. individual differences in the organization and function of the nervous system. (Oxford English Discionary).

Ebooks
Adolescents and adults with autism spectrum disorders
Handbook of culturally responsive school mental health
Handbook of School Mental Health
Mental health screening at school
A practical guide to implementing school-based interventions for adolescents with ADHD
Preventive mental health at school: Evidence-based services for students

Books
Ethical decision making in school mental health - LB3430 .R34 2011
Handbook of evidence-based practices for emotional and behavioral disorders: Applications in schools - LC4801 .H345 2014
School-based mental health: A framework for intervention -   LB3430 .L44 2013
Support for students exposed to trauma: The SSET program - LB3430 .J39 2009 SHELVED IN BTC

Government Documents
Depression and high school students: Answers to students' frequently asked questions about depression 4 page handout
Mental Health Information from the National Institutes of Health Covers 24 topics

Lesson Plans
Making Sense of Mental Health: Past and Present
Neurodiversity: Negotiating the World… Differently 
Nutrition and Physical Activity
Ebooks
School Nutrition and Activity: Impacts on Well-Being

Books

Health matters: The exercise and nutrition health education curriculum for people with developmental disabilities - RC570.2 .M37 2010

Government Documents
Choose the foods you need to grow: 10 tips for teen guys - one page tip sheet
Dig in!: Standards-based nutrition education from the ground up: Ten-lesson unit with learning activities...

Teaching Kits
Bodyworks: A toolkit for healthy teens & strong families - RJ47.53 B538 2009x SHELVED IN BTC request delivery
The Power of Choice: Helping youth make healthy eating and fitness decisions - RJ235 .P68 2010x SHELVED IN BTC request delivery

Websites
Action for Healthy Kids - healthy eating, physical activity and healthier schools
Healthy Schools Campaign -
healthy environments, nutrition, physical activity
Let's Move! - healthy food and physicay activity
Sexual Health and Education
Illinois Guidance Document
Illinois Sex Education Guidance Document

Books and Ebooks

Sex Education
Do abstinence programs work? - HQ800.15 .D62 2014 request book delivery
Sex ed for caring schools: Creating an ethics-based curriculum - HQ57.5.A3 L36 2013
Sexuality in school: The limits of education - HQ57.3 .G55 2014 request book delivery
Too hot to handle: A global history of sex education - HQ57.3 .Z56 2015 request book delivery

Sexually Transmitted Infections
Behavioral interventions for prevention and control of sexually transmitted infections
The New Public Health and STD/HIV Prevention

Sexual Violence
Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention...

Online Video
Abstinence comes to Albuquerque 
Substance Use and Abuse
Ebooks
Smoking Prevention and Cessation
Substance abuse treatment and the stages of change: Selecting and planning interventions

Books - Online Students can request delivery of these books
Social Norms Approach to Preventing ... Substance Abuse - HV4999.Y68 S653 2003

Government Documents
Marijuana: Facts for Teens 24 page booklet
Suicide
Ebooks
Preventing adolescent depression and suicide among Latinas

Books request book delivery
Stay: A history of suicide and the philosophies against it - HV6545 .H372 2013
Suicide and Mental Health - RC569 .N93 2014


Government Documents
Increase in suicide in the United States, 1999-2014 Eight page statistical report
Preventing suicide: A toolkit for high schools - Hard Copy in IL docs, HE 20.402:SU 3/3/2015
Suicide: A major, preventable mental health problem One-page fact sheet

Online Video
A Deathly Silence
Understanding and preventing suicide


Websites
National Suicide Statistics At A Glance
Suicide FastStats
Suicide America's Health Rankings, ranked by state
Subject Specialist
Picture: Stacey Knight-Davis

Stacey Knight-Davis
Health and Nursing Librarian
slknight@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7549


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk