Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

HST 3765 :: Principles of Epidemiology

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=hst3765&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Articles
Search for Articles - Various EBSCO databases
Limit Your Results

Search for Articles in PubMed

PubMed is provided to everyone by the National Library of Medicine. If your future employer does not provide library access, PubMed will still be available to you. Access to articles you find though PubMed is provided by Booth Library.

Epidemiology and Data

Data



FastStats from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data on a wide range of conditions and risks in the United States

Global Burden of Disease - Data visualizations
Global, regional, national, and in some cases subnational estimates of the burden of diseases, injuries, and risk factors
 

Epidemiology Books and ebooks



Paper Topics
Introduction
This guide provides books, ebooks, and web resources selected by the Health Studies librarian. These are intended as starting points for your paper project.

If you need assistance finding more items, please contact Stacey Knight-Davis at slknight@eiu.edu.
Cardiovascular Disease
Clostridium difficile
Burden of Clostridium difficile Infection in the United States
Fernanda C. Lessa, M.D., M.P.H., Yi Mu, Ph.D., Wendy M. Bamberg, M.D., Zintars G. Beldavs, M.S., Ghinwa K. Dumyati, M.D., John R. Dunn, D.V.M., Ph.D., Monica M. Farley, M.D., Stacy M. Holzbauer, D.V.M., M.P.H., James I. Meek, M.P.H., Erin C. Phipps, D.V.M., M.P.H., Lucy E. Wilson, M.D., Lisa G. Winston, M.D., Jessica A. Cohen, M.P.H., Brandi M. Limbago, Ph.D., Scott K. Fridkin, M.D., Dale N. Gerding, M.D., and L. Clifford McDonald, M.D.
New England Journal of Medicine 2015; 372:825-834. February 26, 2015


Clostridium difficile Infection from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Includes prevention, tracking, guidlines, and more





Has an Alternative to Table Sugar Contributed to the C. Diff. Epidemic?
Collins, Francis
NIH Director's Blog;



Conjunctivitis
Allergic conjunctivitis, EyeWiki  from the American Academy of Ophthalmology
Bacterial conjunctivitis, EyeWiki  from the American Academy of Ophthalmology
Conjunctivitis, EyeWiki  from the American Academy of Ophthalmology

Diabetes, Type I
National Diabetes Statistics Report is a periodic publication of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) that provides updated statistics about diabetes in the United States for a scientific audience. It includes information on prevalence and incidence of diabetes, prediabetes, risk factors for complications, acute and long-term complications, deaths, and costs. These data can help focus efforts to prevent and control diabetes across the United States.

Diabetes, Type 2
Diabetes Data and Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Diabetes State Burden Toolkit from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Ebola
Ebola Virus Disease from the World Health Organization
Epilepsy
Epilepsy Data and Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Epilepsy from the Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders


Firearm Violence
Firearm Mortality by State - State of the States from the Centers for Disease Control

Gun Violence Archive
Online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 2,500 media, law enforcement, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide  near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA in an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.

Injury Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control
Glioblastoma
Glioblastoma from the Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders

The Epidemiology of Glioma in Adults: A "State of the Science" Review.
Quinn T. Ostrom, Luc Bauchet, Faith G. Davis, Isabelle Deltour, James L. Fisher, Chelsea Eastman Langer, Melike Pekmezci, Judith A. Schwartzbaum, Michelle C. Turner, Kyle M. Walsh, Margaret R. Wrensch, and Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan
Neuro-Oncolcology 2014 Jul 16(7): 896–913.

Hand Foot and Mouth Disease
Hand, foot and mouth disease (HFMD): emerging epidemiology and the need for a vaccine strategy
S. AswathyrajG. ArunkumarE. K. AlidjinouD. Hober
Medical Microbiology and Immunology October 2016, Volume 205, Issue 5, pp 397–407

Hepatits C
Viral Hepatits Statistics and Surveillance - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Histoplasmosis
Epidemiology of Histoplasmosis Outbreaks, United States, 1938–2013
Kaitlin Benedict and Rajal K. Mody
Emerging Infectious Diseases 2016 Mar; 22(3): 370–378.

Histoplasmosis Statistics - Fungal Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Insomnia
Lyme Disease
Lyme Disease Data and Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Melanoma
Methicllin-resistant Staphyllcoccus (MRSA)
MRSA Tracking - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Norovirus
Burden of Norovirus - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Reporting and Surveillance for Norovirus- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Obesity
Overweight and Obesity, Data and Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Opioid Abuse
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Salmonella
Seasonal Influenza
Seasonal Flu Activity and Surveillance Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Shingles (Varicella Zoster, Herpes Zoster)
Shingles (Herpes Zoster)
Rebecca J. Frey, Larry Gilman and Margaret Alic
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. Ed. Brigham Narins. Vol. 5. 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2013. p3017-3022.

Sports Related Consussions
Stroke
Stroke Maps and Data Sources - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Suicide
National Suicide Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Thyroid Cancer
Tuberculosis
Tuberculosis Data and Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

West Nile Virus
Zika Virus
Zika Reporting and Surveillance - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention