Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Image Searching

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=images&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

FINDING IMAGES IN THE LIBRARY COLLECTION
To find images in books from the Booth Library collection, search the EIU Online Catalog.

The physical description in the catalog record will note if a book has illustrations.
physical description information in library catalog record

 •  In addition to using "illustrations" as a keyword, try searching for "pictorial works."
 •  ​Use "portraits" to search for images of people.

To find reproductions of a particular work of art:
 •  In the library catalog, search for the artist's name. Once you have a book about the artist in hand, consult the index or list of illustrations (if available) to find out if/where the artwork is pictured within that book.
 •  For a more comprehensive search, look for books on art by time period or century, region or culture, medium, movement, subject, and/or institution housing the work.
 •  Searching by the title of the artwork may be successful if it's a well-known work (or if it happens to be mentioned in a table of contents), but most individual artworks do not have entire books written about them. Instead, try searching in library research databases for an article on the artwork, since articles tend to focus on narrower topics.
When searching in databases, look for search options that will help to limit the results to images.

For example, in Art Abstracts you can to limit your search by document type to art reproduction, cover art, or image.
Humanities International Complete offers even more options, listing nearly 40 visual document types.
Academic Search Complete allows you to select one or more of seven image quick view types.

database search limit types for images
Scanning equipment and image editing software are available at the media workstations in the northwest corner of the 4000 Level. [FAQ]
ONLINE IMAGE RESOURCES
SEARCH ENGINES

Google Images
 •  tools on results page allow filtering by size, color, type, time, and usage rights
 •  four ways to search by image (reverse image search): drag and drop; upload an image; copy and paste the URL for an image; right-click an image on the web (with Chrome or Firefox extension)
 •  reverse image search on phone or tablet using the Chrome app for Android/iPhone/iPad - see Google Search help page for more information


Google Advanced Image Search
 •  results can be narrowed on the advanced search screen by image size, aspect ratio, color, image type, file type, usage rights, and other limiters
 •  NOTE: limiting size to 'Larger than 1024x768' (or even larger) increases the likelihood of finding high quality images


Creative Commons Search
 •  access gateway to searching Flickr, Google Images, Open Clip Art Library, and Pixabay for images that can be modified, adapted, or built upon and/or used for commercial purposes
 •  see also CC Search, a prototype facilitating simultaneous search across open archives of cultural works


TinEye Reverse Image Search
 •  upload an image or enter an image URL to find other instances of the same image online

TinEye Labs Multicolor Search
 •  find images by color

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Ad*Access - early 20th-century advertisements available via Duke University Libraries Digital Repository
CAMIO - OCLC's catalog of art museum images online
CARLI Digital Collections - includes images contributed by academic and research libraries in Illinois
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA Images app)
Europeana Collections - images from European cultural heritage institutions
Flickr Commons - photography with no known copyright restrictions, from archives around the world
Google Arts & Culture
Library of Congress Digital Collections
LIFE Photo Archive
LUNA Commons - educational content from collections using Luna Imaging's Insight software
NYPL Digital Collections - includes images digitized by the New York Public Library
Oxford Art Online - access restricted to EIU (3 users at a time)
Saskia Art Images (CARLI) - access restricted to EIU and other consortium members
​Shared Shelf Commons - open repository of images from institutions using ARTstor's digital collections software
Wikimedia Commons
​Wikipedia list of public domain image resources
For images of works of art, also search museum websites.
CITATION STYLE GUIDES
Most style guides are concerned with captioning and crediting images used in papers, presentations, etc., as opposed to citing images as sources of information. Image-relevant sections of selected style guides are listed below.

Image references generally include the following data, as applicable:
  • Name of creator
  • Title
  • Date
  • Medium
  • Dimensions
  • Collection/Repository and/or Location
  • Source of image (publication or website information)
APA
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed., 2010)
BF76.7 .P83 2010  -  3000 Level Stacks, or Reference Room
     5.20-5.25 Figures
     5.29 Photographs
     7.07 Reference example #53: Map retrieved online
     7.10 Reference example #73: Photographs in archival collections

BibMe – Citation Generator for Digital Images (APA)
Citation Machine – Citation Generator for Digital Images (APA)

Library of Congress – APA Citation Format (adapted from APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources, 6th ed.):
citation structure and examples for cartoons and illustrations | maps and charts | photographs
CHICAGO / TURABIAN
Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed., 2010)
Z253 .C57 2010  -  1000 Level Stacks, or Reference Desk
     1.38 List of illustrations
     2.27 Text references to illustrations
     3.3-3.45 Illustrations
     4.83-4.84 Fair use of pictorial and graphic materials
     4.94-4.97 Rights, permissions, copyright for illustrations
     8.193-8.195 Titles of works: Works of art and exhibitions
     14.165 Citing illustrations
 
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations / Kate L. Turabian (8th ed., 2013)
LB2369 .T8 2013  -  2000 Level Stacks, or Reference Room
     8.1-8.4 Presenting Evidence in Tables and Figures
     17.8.1 Source Citation, Notes-Bibliography Style: Artworks and Graphics
     19.8.1 Source Citation, Author-Date Style: Artworks and Graphics
     26.3 Style: Figures
     A.2.3.1 Format Requirements, Back Matter: Illustrations
     A.3.1.4 Paper Format, File Preparation: Illustrations
 
BibMe – Citation Generator for Digital Images (Chicago/Turabian)
Citation Machine – Citation Generator for Digital Images (Chicago/Turabian)

Library of Congress – Chicago Citation Format (15th ed.):
citation structure and examples for ​cartoons and illustrations | maps and charts | photographs
CSE
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (7th ed., 2006)
T11 .S386 2006  -  Reference Room
     28.4.2.8 Lists of Illustrations (Figures) and Tables
     30.2 Figures
 
Citation Machine – Citation Generator (CSE)
MLA
MLA Handbook (8th ed., 2016)
LB2369 .G53 2016  -  2000 Level Stacks, or Reference Room
 
BibMe – Citation Generator for Digital Images (MLA 8th ed.)
Citation Machine – Citation Generator for Digital Images (MLA 8th ed.)
EasyBib – Citation Generator for Digital Images (MLA 8th ed.)

EasyBib – How to Cite a Digital Image (MLA 8th ed.)
 
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed., 2009)
LB2369 .G53 2009  -  2000 Level Stacks, or Reference Room
     4.5 Tables and illustrations (in the format of the research paper)
     5.6.2d Citing non-print works (e.g., images) found on the web
     5.7.6 Citing a work of visual art (physical object, or image found in print publications)
     5.7.8 Citing a map or chart
     5.7.9 Citing a cartoon or comic strip
     5.7.10 Citing an advertisement
     5.7.18 Citing a digital file

EasyBib – How to Cite a Photograph (MLA 7th ed.)

Library of Congress – MLA Citation Format (7th ed.):
citation structure and examples for cartoons and illustrations | maps and charts | photographs
COPYRIGHT AND FAIR USE
Copyright: the exclusive legal right to reproduce, publish, sell, or distribute a work
Fair use: a legal doctrine that allows limited use of copyrighted material under certain circumstances without permission from the copyright holder (usually the creator), provided that the use is fair and reasonable and does not affect the market value of the original work
Public domain: freely available to the public / not subject to copyright

COPYRIGHT – GENERAL:
 
Copyright Law of the United States: Title 17 of the United States Code 

U.S. Code, Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 107 - on fair use of copyrighted material
 
Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States  [PDF version]  (Cornell University)

COPYRIGHT – CHECKLISTS, CHARTS, & TOOLS:
 
Is It Protected by Copyright? Public Domain Slider (Copyright Advisory Network (U.S.))

European public domain calculators
 
FAIR USE – VISUAL ARTS/IMAGES:

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts (College Art Association, 2015)
 
Statement on the Fair Use of Images for Teaching, Research, and Study (Visual Resources Association, 2011)
 
FAIR USE  CHECKLISTS, CHARTS, & TOOLS:
 
Checklist for Fair Use (American Library Association)
 
Fair Use Checklist (Cornell University) 
 
Fair Use Checklist (Indiana University)

Digital Image Rights Computator table (Visual Resources Association)
 
Can I Use That Picture? The Terms, Laws, and Ethics for Using Copyrighted Images flowchart
 
FOR STUDENTS:

Scholarly Work & Dissertations by Students (Columbia University)
 
FOR FACULTY:
 
Know Your Copy Rights chart (Association of Research Libraries, 2007)
 
Teaching Tools on Fair Use (College Art Association)
 
Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act (TEACH Act):
U.S. Code, Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 110 - §110(2) applies to online/distance education
TEACH Act Checklist (University of Texas Libraries)