Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Sociology, an Introduction

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=introsoc&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Books in the Library stacks
Introductory Sociology

This is a guide to selected library resources dealing with various introductory topics in Sociology. The guide is organized by the material type: books, electronic books, reference books and electronic reference materials. For research in the scholarly sociological literature (journal articles)  refer to the "social sciences databases" page on the library Website.

Stacks books (print)
Title: Blogging
Author: By Rettberg, J.W.
Location: Book Stacks (3rd floor)
Call number: HM851 .R478 2014x

Media Technologies:  Essays on Communication, Materiality, and Society
Gillespie, T., Boczkowski, P.J., and Foot, K.A., eds.
Book Stacks (1st floor) P96 .T42 M43 2014

And the Crooked Places Made Straight:  the Struggle for Social Change in the
1960s

By Chalmers, D.
Book Stacks (3rd floor) E841 .C46 2013

Networks, Work, and Inequality
By McDonald, S.
Book Stacks (3rd floor) HD6951 .R47 v.24

Globalization and Media:  Global Village of Babel
By Lule, J.
Book Stacks (1st floor) P94.6 .L845 2012

Human Geography:  Landscapes of Human Activities
By Fellmann, J.D.
Book Stacks (3rd floor) GF41 .F44 2005

The New Class Society:  Goodbye American Dream?
By Wysong, E., Perrucci, R., and Wright, D.
Book Stacks (3rd floor) HN90.S6 P47 2014

Degrees of Inequality: How the Politics of Higher Education Sabotaged the
American Dream

By Mettler, S.    
Book Stacks (2nd floor) LC173 .M48 2014

Special Issue:  Who Belongs?  Immigration, Citizenship, and the Constitution of
Legality

Sarat, A., ed.
Book Stacks (2nd floor) K18 .E8371x  v.60

Fighting to Serve:  Behind the Scenes in the War to Repeal “Don’t Ask, Don’t
Tell”

By Nicholson, A.
Book Stacks (1st floor) UA418 .G38 N53 2012

Sexual Injustice:  Supreme Court Decisions from Griswold to Roe
By Stein, M.
KF4550 .S74 2010

DVD
Lee Daniels’ The Butler
New Media Display (4th floor) PN1997 .B8873x  .DVD
Electronic books
eBooks

Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness: and A-Z Guide
Ed. Andrew Scull
Sage, 2014 (GVRL)

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
Ed. David Snow
John Wiley & Sons, 2014

Theoretical Principles of Sociology volume 1: Macrodynamics
Jonathan Turner
Springer, 2010

Human Geography:  People, Place, and Culture
By Fouberg, E.H.
CARLI eBooks from EBL

Key Texts in Human Geography
By Hubbard, P.
CARLI eBooks from EBL

The Dictionary of Human Geography
By Gregory, D.
CARLI eBooks from EBL

Spaces of Geographical Thought:  Deconstructing Human Geography’s
Binaries

By Cloke, P.J.
CARLI eBooks from EBL

Politics of Globalization
By Dasgupta, S.
CARLI eBooks from EBL

Learning in the Global Era:  International Perspectives on Globalization and
Education

By Suárez-Orozco, M.
CARLI eBooks from EBL
Print Reference books
Reference books
(All print reference books are located on the 3rd floor north of the atrium)

Encyclopedia of Power
Dowding, K., ed.
HN49 .P6 E53 2011

Encyclopedia of the World’s Minorities
GN495.4 .E63

Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
By Cashmore, E.
GN495.6 .C37 2004

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
GT2850 .E53 2003

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
GT31 .G74 2004

Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
GT507 .E54 2010

Material Culture in America:  Understanding Everyday Life
GN560 .U6 M37 2008

Countries and Their Cultures
GN307 .C68

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
GN307 .E52 1996

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: a Ready Reference Handbook
GN325 .L46 1998

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
By Gall, T.
GN333 .W67 2009
Online Reference Resources
Electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference resources

Encyclopedia of Human Geography
By Warf, B.
Sage, 2006

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: a Ready Reference Handbook
By David Levinson
Oryx Press, 1998


New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Maryanne Cline Horowitz, Editor in Chief
Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005 (GVRL)
CARLI eBooks from EBL