Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

GEG 3780 :: Land Use Planning (Dr. Smith)

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=landplan&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Research guide introduction
This guide will provide you with links to appropriate research resources for the Land Use Planning assignments. Link back to this guide: http://booth.eiu.edu/landplan.

 

Sections within this guide

National Monument assignment
Illinois Environmental Planning assignment
Find scholarly journal articles
Find newspaper articles
Citation style requirements
Get help!

 

Brainstorming for keywords

Keywords are single nouns and phrases (or combinations of phrases) that describe the topic you want to find. Formulating your article search in terms of keywords will obtain the best results when searching in the library databases. Keywords can be joined by AND, OR, and NOT.

As an exercise, write down your research question or topic.
Example: What are the main sources of air pollution in Illinois?

Underline each separate concept. These will be the keywords to include in your search.
Example: What are the main sources of air pollution in Illinois?

Finally, link up these keywords with connector words. These sample searches will return only results that contain all keywords in the article record:

-- sources and air pollution and Illinois
-- air pollution and Illinois    (If you don’t find enough results with the first strategy, leave in only the most important terms and try your search again.)

Also, consider replacing your keywords with synonyms to find even more articles.

Try: "air quality" or "air pollution" or "emissions (air pollution)"

Using quotation marks around words will search them as a phrase and ensure results contain the phrase "air pollution" rather than simply the words "air" and "pollution."
National Monument assignment
Assignment guidelines, from Dr. Betty Smith
 

National Monument assignment

 

Background reading

-- Mitchell, John G. 2001. "The Big Open." National Geographic 200, no. 2: 2-29.
    Provides an overview of BLM lands. The link above contains the article text only. For the 20 color photographs included, see the hard copy of National Geographic in the periodical bound volumes, 1000 level, call number G1 .N27.

-- "National Conservation Lands," U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management, last modified January 16, 2016, http://www.blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/blm_special_areas/NLCS.html.

 

Choosing a monument

Visit the Bureau of Land Management website [www.blm.gov] and choose a monument to research.

 

Using Booth Library to conduct your research

Find a minimum of 3 scholarly articles and 2 newspaper articles to support your paper and presentation.
     Use Ebsco databases or JSTOR for scholarly articles; use Lexis-Nexis for newspaper articles. Read the section above on Brainstorming for Keywords to assist in searching the library databases. Also see the sections below on Finding scholarly journal articles and Finding newspaper articles.

You may also use Internet resources, books, and magazines.
     Internet resources will be free credible sites you find via search engines. Books can be found by searching the Booth Library catalog (see search box below). Magazine articles can be found using the Ebsco databases.
  Results will display in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles
From the library’s home page, click on Databases within the Articles search tab. 



Scroll down and click on the link for Academic Search Complete. This will bring you to a menu of EBSCO databases you can choose to search.  
From the Choose Databases page, check off the following databases and click on Continue.
 
          -- Academic Search Complete
          -- Business Source Elite
          -- EconLit          
          -- GreenFile
          -- Military and Government Collection (a good one for public policy & the history of national monuments)
          -- Social Sciences Abstracts
 
Then type your keywords into the search boxes as in the following example.




Make sure Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals is checked off as a limiter.  You can also limit your search to items that are available in full-text within EBSCO.  To also find articles from non-scholarly sources, such as government publications, uncheck the Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals box.
 
To find articles with images and/or maps, click on Advanced Search and check off Image Quick View.



 

Searching JSTOR

Searches in JSTOR, a collection of scholarly journals that covers a wide range of academic topics, can be done similarly to how you search in EBSCO. Everything in JSTOR is available in full-text.
 
Try an Advanced Search in JSTOR as follows. Because JSTOR will automatically search through the entire text of the article, you can focus your search by putting the name of your monument in quotes.

Find newspaper articles
Lexis-Nexis Academic is a database with the complete text of many newspaper articles, plus legal & business information, but we’ll look at just newspaper articles here. At the opening screen, ignore the big red box. In the lower-left portion of the screen, click the down-arrow under “Search the News.”
 


After the “Search the News” menu expands, enter your keywords (or combination of keywords) into the Search For box, and choose Newspapers as the source type.  Then click Go.



The results will sort automatically by relevance. This can be changed to Newest to Oldest in the Sort drop-down box in the top-left of the search results page. Each article is available in full; click on the title to view them. For a more precise search, put the name of your monument in quotes.
 
In addition, the Chicago Tribune database will prove especially helpful when looking for newspaper articles on land use planning issues affecting Illinois. The link provided above will search articles from the paper from 1985 going forward; if you’d like to find earlier articles also, you can change the database selection at the top of the search screen to include the Chicago Tribune (Historical), which includes news articles published 1849-1990.

Illinois Environmental Planning assignment
Assignment guidelines, from Dr. Betty Smith
 

Illinois Environmental Planning assignment

 

Choosing a topic

Select a chapter from the Environmental Planning book in which you are interested and that you will use as a basis from which to study the topic as applied to the state of Illinois. See suggested themes for inquiry in your paper on the list of chapters and questions sheet.

Wanting more background information?

Green Cities: An A to Z Guide
Reference Collection -- HT241 .G735 2011 (in-building use only)
Includes brief overview articles on such topics as environmental planning, water conservation, air quality, etc.

 

Using Booth Library to conduct your research

Find a minimum of 3 scholarly articles and 2 newspaper articles to support your paper and presentation.
     Use Ebsco databases or JSTOR for scholarly articles; use Lexis-Nexis for newspaper articles. Read the section in this guide on Brainstorming for Keywords to assist in searching the library databases. Also see the sections above on Finding scholarly journal articles and Finding newspaper articles.

You may also use Internet resources, books, and magazines.
     Internet resources will be free credible sites you find via search engines. Books can be found by searching the Booth Library catalog (see search box below). Magazine articles can be found using the Ebsco databases.
  Results will display in a new window

 

Try these terms

"environmental planning"
"environmental policy"
"city planning -- environmental aspects"
"land use"
"sustainable development"
"sustainable urban development"
"urbanization -- environmental aspects"
"urban ecology"
"industrial management -- environmental aspects"
"environmental protection"
--
This guide was created through the collaborative efforts of Steve Brantley, head of reference services, Kirstin Duffin and Sarah Johnson, reference librarians.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kirstin Duffin

Kirstin Duffin
Reference Librarian Liaison for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology/Geography
kduffin@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7550


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Get help!
You can always get help from the reference librarians:

The Reference desk is on north end of the main level of Booth Library
 
visit: (floor map)
Tel. 217-581-6072
Live Help 24/7 booth.eiu.edu/chat
Email booth.eiu.edu/ask
 
Citation style requirements

Cite your work!

Your assignment requires that you use citations within the text of your paper as well as references at the end of your paper.

In-text citations must be (AUTHOR YEAR: PAGE) for example: (Smith 2010: 34)

The references section must be in Chicago style, author-date format. From The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide click on the "author-date" tab for examples. Do not use the "notes and bibliography" or "footnotes" format.