Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Mathematics

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=mathematics&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

FINDING BOOKS
Browsing the stacks for Mathematics books
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number.  Below is a list of the call number ranges for subjects within the Mathematics field.  Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books in the stacks are found on the 1st floor South, on the movable shelves toward the right, and these books can be borrowed with your Panther Card.  You can also find math reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and guides to famous mathematicians, in the reference area, 3rd floor north, next to the reference computer lab.

QA 9-10 - Mathematical Logic
QA 11-20 - Mathematics--Study and Teaching
QA 21-35 - History of Mathematics
QA 40-59 - Mathematical Tables
QA 141-145 - Elementary Mathematics and Arithmetic
QA 150-184 - Algebra
QA 184-205  - Linear Algebra, Matrices
QA 269 - Game Theory
QA 273-274 - Probability and Statistics
QA 276-280 - Mathematical Analysis
QA 297-299 - Numerical Analysis
QA 303-316 - Calculus
QA 319-355 - Functional Analysis, Theory of Functions
QA 370-387 - Differential Equations
QA 440-469 - Elementary Geometry
QA 531-538 - Trigonometry
QA 551-581 - Analytic and Algebraic Geometry
QA 611-614 - Topology
QA 641-660    Differential Geometry
T 57 - Applied Mathematics, Operations Research
Searching the EIU Online Catalog
Choose the EIU Online Catalog to find books in the library, and in the search box, type in keywords describing what you'd like to find.  You'll find the best results using simple words or phrases, such as "linear algebra" (in quotes).  Click on each title to find more information about the item.  The catalog will also find information on videos, ebooks, government publications, and more.

EIU catalog search for
Test prep guides
The Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC), available to all EIU students, faculty, and staff, offers full-length practice tests and online books covering the GRE's quantitative reasoning section.  TERC also provides books and example tests for the SAT subject tests for mathematics, among many other standardized tests.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Sarah Johnson

Sarah Johnson
Reference Librarian
sljohnson2@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-7538


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
Booth Library offers several databases useful for finding articles in mathematics. All databases are accessible from off campus as well; just log in with your EIU netID and password.  Think about your topic in terms of keywords, which can either be connected by AND/OR/NOT on the same line, or separated on different lines.

To obtain the articles you want, click on the full-text if available, or click on the Get Full Text link Get Full Text to see whether your article is available online or in print through another Booth Library source.

MathSciNet - A comprehensive database covering articles in mathematics, from 1940 to present. It provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.  This should be your first stop when looking for articles in math.

Academic Search Complete - Full articles and abstracts from articles covering a wide range of academic topics, including math.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts - Citations and abstracts of journal articles in applied mathematics and other areas of applied science and technology.

ERIC - Articles covering the field of education, including mathematics teaching and educational resources in math.
Selected reference books
For biographical information on mathematicians, check out these reference books (3rd floor/main level):

Dictionary of Scientific Biography - REF Q 141 .D5 (20 vol.)
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists - REF Q 141 .N73 (4 vol.)
Biographical Encyclopedia of Mathematicians - REF QA 28 .B544 1999 (2 vol.)
Notable Women in Mathematics - REF QA 28 .N68 1998
Notable Mathematicians from Ancient Times to the Present - REF QA 28 .N66 1998

For mathematical definitions, formulas, and tables:

Mathematical, Scientific, and Engineering Formulas, Tables, Functions, Graphs, Transforms - REF QA 40 .H357
Handbook of Mathematics and Computer Science - REF QA 40 .S76 1998
CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences - REF QA 47 .H32
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals - REF QA47 .J38 1995
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables - REF QA47 .C73 1978x
CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae - REF QA273.3 .K64 2000
CRC Handbook of Tables for Probability and Statistics - REF QA276 .B44 1968x
Selected Tables in Mathematical Statistics - REF QA 276.25 .H373 (6 vol.)
Integrals and Series - .REF QA 308 .P7813 1986 (2 vol.)
CRC Handbook of Mathematical Curves and Surfaces - REF QA 643 .V66 1990